Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: IP address / server name ???

    Hello,

    I have an access (2002) project which i connect with SQL server 2000.
    The server name = MAINSERVER
    In the local network i setup the connection: File -> connection... and i give the name (MAINSERVER) and the databasename. It works fine.
    But several users connect (with the same project) from home with a VPN. They can't connect using the servername, but they have to work with the IP address of the server.

    Does anyone knows why they cannot work with the servername MAINSERVER???

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10

    Arrow SERVER NAME

    can you please mention which server network library you are using if you are using multiprotocol server name can be used and it works without any problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    8
    What is a server network library and how do I know which server network library i am using?
    I also don't know what a multiprotocol server name is.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10

    SERVER NAME

    GO TO OPERATING SYSTEM START > PROGRAMS > SQL SERVER 2000 SERVER NETWORK UTILITY

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    8
    When i take a look at server network library i see the following:

    Named Pipes
    TCP/IP
    NWlink IPX/SPX
    VIA(Giganet)

    All are version 8.0.194

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10

    Arrow sp_helpserver

    did you have any of firewall?
    chech server name inside the query analzer by typing
    sp_helpserver

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    8
    Yes, there is a firewall. Perhaps that is the problem
    I'm at home now, and I just started the VPN, and then the query analyzer. Then i was asked for the servername and I typed the IP address (The name doesn't work as you know)

    when i type sp_serverhelp i see the following:

    name MAINSERVER
    network name MAINSERVER
    status rpc,rpc out,use remote collation
    id 0
    collation name NULL
    ...
    ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •