Unanswered: ADO vs. DAO in MS Access 2000

I am a long-time programmer, but a newcomer to Access/VB/VBA programming.

I have been reviewing some texts and tutorials that I have found online as well as reading code examples in the VB Help files. Some of the tutorials I have found are a couple of years old and are for Access97. I have found several references in these tutorials and VB Help files which reference objects based on the DAO object model. Because of some conflicting object types in the DAO and ADO object models (the Recordset Object for example) some of the code examples either do not work, or require specification of DAO vs ADO to make them work.

My question is, what is the real difference in these two? I am sure one each has advantages and disadvantages over the other, but I'm not sure what they are.

Should I be using DAO some times and ADO other times?

Can someone concisely explain (or point me to a link that does so) the differences in the two object models?

Is one really substantially better than the other, or is this kind of like the argument between using different shells or editors in the Unix world?

Since I am just starting my Access db programming experiences, I would like to start off on the right foot, the right way, using and learning the proper object model.

Thank you for your help.

It's a big topic

Article below gives you answers on some of your questions:

Migrating from DAO to ADO
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...oadoupdate.asp

HTH, Igor

MSDN features a book excerpt that describes both the DAO and ADO object models. The URL is http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...l/acchap2.asp.

I am the author of the excerpted book, and my personal preference is for ADO although DAO has some advantages in a few cases. You can learn more about ADO at my site, www.programmingmsaccess.com.

I hope this reply helps.

Thank you for posting these excellent links.
    The first one doesn't work for me though.

Originally posted by IGelin