Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    188

    Wink Unanswered: CLP environment not working with create database command

    hello guys,

    I am a newbie when it comes to DB2 and I have the UDB/DB2 7.2 enterprise server that I am using to port some Oracle scripts to it.

    Now I finished my install and everything worked, I created my
    create database command file and I executed the process using
    the CLP shortcuts on the DB2 window menu, and of course it worked.
    Now all of the suddenly I try to run again the same script that I ran
    before to recreate my DB and the error is that SQL 1024N ambigues
    message that "A database connection does not exist" I do have a DB2
    server up and running my services are running, my logs are showing
    no errors, but I can not run my create database script again,
    what gives !!!!

    The oly thing I did before try running my script was , I drop the DB
    I created, I also un-Rem the VC++ lib so I can create my SP on the
    DB2 and that's all I did,

    Does anybody has any idea or sugestion on what I am missing here


    The dam DB2 server ran my script once, I did a bit of a change and now
    it does not want to play again..


    I am in a Win2000 SP2, 1gig of mem, 1gig Hz speed, about 25gig of
    free space.

    tx

    Marcos Oliva

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Baden-Baden / Germany
    Posts
    1

    Cool give the environment a try

    did you try to set the environment by set?
    e.g. to set db2instance=DB2 or something like that?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    188

    Re: give the environment a try

    Originally posted by SamS
    did you try to set the environment by set?
    e.g. to set db2instance=DB2 or something like that?
    yes my enviroment var db2instance is set to DB2 already.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    188

    Re: Re: give the environment a try

    Originally posted by Maor71


    yes my enviroment var db2instance is set to DB2 already.
    Well, thanks guys, I think now it is working again, I re-installed the whole thing and now it works, why it did not before I do not know.

    now the only problem is the location of the sr_cpath.bat file , this file
    was setting my C compiler enviroment before, now I can not find it
    does anybody knows where to get a copy of the settings

    tx

    mark oliva

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    OS/2
    %DB2PATH%\function\routine\sr_cpath.cmd

    UNIX
    $HOME/sqllib/function/routine/sr_cpath

    Windows
    %DB2PATH%\function\routine\sr_cpath.bat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    57

    Create database script file in command window

    I have the same problem. And an answer too. If it doesn't exist any database to connect to (when need to create a database) how is it the connection to the instance do?
    I have a sql file where create a new database. When I try to read the file I receive the same message (a database connection does note exist).
    Perhaps is my mistake in the script file but I didn't find anywhere how to connect to an idle instance or somethink like that (because I don't want to connect to a database).
    In sql server I must be connected to master to create a database.
    IN oracle I must already have an instance.
    Can you help me please with Db2.
    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •