Unanswered: Combine several Access dbs into one application

Hello,

Im relatively new to Access development, so I would appreciate any suggestions. Thank you for advance.

My organization has several Access databases such as Personnel, Financial, Contractors, and a few others. All of them are completed dbs with switchboards, forms, reports, etc. Now they want to combine them all into one application. They want to have one screen where anyone would choose the task they needed. So different buttons will open different .mdb files. What software should be used for that type of interface?
    Would VB be a good choice? I did projects in VB when I had to reference different .mdb files. If I use VB to accomplish that will it be too complicated to adjust all existing .mdbs to work as one application?

Thank you again.

Why not use Access? You could in fact import all the forms into an access Front End, create a Menubar and enable disable according to passwords or what have you.

All the tables could be placed in one huge backend and if the need arose upsized to SQL.

The advantage of this approach is the backend could share data, for example contractors address details from the contractors files could be used by the financial files for paying bills and so on.

I would suspect that normalisation of the data in the backend could lead to a reduction in data and room by about 50% or greater, with consequent improvements all round. This may require thinking outside the 'square', in as much as contact data could all be stored in one massive table instead of four or five seperate tables, with a field to reference what contact type they are.

Hi,

Thaks for your reply.
    I heard a lot that Access fails to have more that 20 connections at a time. That's why I thought that it would be more easier to keep all that dbs as separate files. In fact, they do share some tables.

Talking

It was supposed to be "thanks" in previous posting