Unhappy Unanswered: Error Message 3309 "Property Value too Large"

I analyze very large surveys for non-profit organizations. Some of the surveys have more than 200 fields. Since I understand that there is an upper limit on the number of fields, how do I overcome this upper limit? Can I link two tables of data and go from the form for one table (first half of the survey) to the form for another table (second half of the survey) and transfer the data in the key field from the first table (first half of survey) to the second table (second half of survey)? It was simple to do in Paradox (my old database). Please be specific as I am relatively new at Access.

What are the fields in your survey table ? Are they mostly yes/no - a/b/c/d ... ?

Property Value too Large. Error 3309.

I have 25 text fields with 15-25 characters each, 20 memo fields and 181 number fields, most of which are integers.

I have reduced the size of each of the text fields by between 5 and 15 characters in hopes of adding more fields but to no avail. I also rebuilt the database per some other suggestions I found on the net.

Total number of fields that I have is 226. I understand the limit is 255. The survey I am working on was revised and I need to add 11 number (integer) fields. The data for the integer fields is mostly whole numbers 1,2,3.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I would prefer keeping all data in one table if possible.

Error 3309: Property Value too Large

An update on the things that I have done to the database in response to this error message.

1. Opened new database and imported the objects from the old database. No change in error message.

2. Changed all numbers from integer to byte. No change in the error message.

3. Removed all text fields. No change in the error message.

After each of the above steps I ran the Compact and Repair Database from the Tools menu.

I am now going to have to start from scratch unless someone out there can tell me what is wrong.