Unanswered: Form Problem and Recommended Book

Greetings,

I am developing a database application using Access (which I have never done before). I have created a set of tables with a many to many relationship through a junction table. Now, I would like to populate that junction table using a form as opposed to typing in coded information for a week. However, I cannot seem to find a good tutorial for what I want to do.

Basically, there are tables named Faculty, Class, and FacultyClassJunction. They are joined through FacultyID and ClassID. How can I create a form that uses the Faculty Table as a basis and then has a list of Expertises for each record in Faculty that are changeable via a combo box containing all the Expertises from the Expertise Table?

And, if this is too simple a question to waste your time on , can someone recommend a decent book that is written for competent programmers which focuses on using Access (something like a manual for access with development examples).

Thx,

~AbM

Basically, there are tables named Faculty, Class, and FacultyClassJunction. They are joined through FacultyID and ClassID. How can I create a form that uses the Faculty Table as a basis and then has a list of Expertises for each record in Faculty that are changeable via a combo box containing all the Expertises from the Expertise Table?

Sorry, What Expertise table?

I assume you mean a list of faculty with classes taught at the faculty.

This is a classic subform arrangment. If you are using Access 2000 or 2002 this may autogenerate for you. Try clicking the autoform button on each table and see what forms you get.

I've got the forms generated, but for some reason, Access refuses to allow records to be updated in the subform. Help says they are probably locked, but they are not.

Also, when I said Expertise, I meant Class; I have about a half dozen many-to-many relationships going on in this thing and I am desperately trying to avoid inserting all the data by hand.

Thx,