Unhappy Unanswered: Newbie stumped ... any help.. Please!

I'm new to Access programming and have reached total meltdown. I've searched Google and here and either I don't know enough to know I've seen the solution, or I haven't found it yet. If there's a posted answer, just point me in the right direction!

Here's the problem: This is a fishing tournament where points are assigned based on weight of fish caught (basically, first place = 100 points, 2nd place = 99, descending sequentially until TOTALWEIGHT=0, then no points). I have a form based on a query named RESULTS that dumps the data into a table. The query is sorted by TOTALWEIGHT once the sort button is activated. I want to automatically assign points to a blank field called POINTS in the query based on values in TOTALWEIGHT.

I have stumped more than one person with this question and would appreciate any help anyone can offer!
    Thanks

If your table is named "fishing" and the field is "totalweight" then this expression will number the weights descending sequentially starting with the highest weight equaling 100.

Points: IIf([totalweight]=0,0,(Select Count (*)+ (100-(Select Count (*) FROM [fishing]) ) FROM [fishing] as Temp WHERE [Temp].[totalweight] < [fishing].[totalweight])+1)

Thanks!! But.....

It worked like a charm in the query and the data posts to the form, but it's not updating the field on the table?

It's usually not a good idea to put calculated values into a table.

Advice??

Then is it better to query on a query to track my results from tournament to tournament? these points are used over the season to determine overall place. I had been entering them, then using a sum query for the YTD results. (I'm sorry about being so obviously clueless, but I really want to learn the best way)

Originally posted by cpod
    It's usually not a good idea to put calculated values into a table.

I'm not quite sure I understand what you are trying to do. Is this done on a yearly basis?

Sorry....