Question Unanswered: Problem connecting to Access using ASP

Hi kids,

I'm a newbie to ASP. I've successfully connected to an Access database located on a local drive of my IIS server, but I get the following error while connecting to the same database if I move it to a network shared folder:

"Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80004005'

The Microsoft Jet database engine cannot open the file 'L:\data\testdb.mdb'. It is already opened exclusively by another user, or you need permission to view its data."

L: is a mapped network drive on the IIS server pointing to a folder on another server on the network. Bothe servers run NT 4.0 SP6 and the IIS user account has full NTFS rights to the mdb file and all folders in the path. It is not opened by another user when this error occurs.

The database is very simple - just two tables with some test data, no passwords or anything like that.

My connection string is
    ("PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;DATA SOURCE=L:\data\testdb.mdb")

It's an Access 2000 database.

The line that causes the error is the fourth one below:

Dim dbLogistics
    Set dbLogistics = Server.CreateObject ("ADODB.Connection")
    dbLogistics.Mode = adModeReadWrite
    dbLogistics.Open(strConnectionString)

Eternal gratitude and free beer to the reply that gets me past my first major hurdle in ASP.

Thanks,

Kev

Well, I have to know what beer before I reply.

But, seriously ... Normally this is tied to your iusr... account, that iis uses to access the file, not having access on your network or password syncronization is enabled on your iis or you have an mdac version that is buggy or you need to use the unc instead of the letter mapping or ....

The following is a link that will help you:

link

Hi rnealejr,

Thanks for that link. Still getting the error message - here's my progress so far:

My IUSR account has been given full rights to the share and the NTFS folder in which the db resides.

IUSR also has full rights to the db file.