Unanswered: Can't figure update query

Can't figure the following out:

I need to append records 11709-13847 of the field "Main_id" in my "FISHSRY_SCCT_MAIN" table to records 1-2139 (of Barrier_id) in another table(FISHSRY_SCCT_BARRIERS).

I don't want to simply add on the records from "Main_id" to the end of the barriers table.

How can I do this? I know I need to use an update query (?) but can't get the syntax/logic right. Would it be possible for you to show me the exact sql commands to use? This is my first time doing an update query using criteria expressions and I'm confused.

The reason I want to do this is because the records in the Barriers table link to records in the Main table - they are linked by the "Main_id" field.

Thanks for your help.

you want to append, but you don't want to add them on to the end?

that's too confusing for me

can you give an example? make up two or three id numbers in each table, and show before/after

rudy
    http://rudy.ca/

sorry rudy, wrong terminolgy - i mean update (not append)

I have an empty field in my barrier table: Main_id. I would like to add to this empty field the records from the main_id field in the main table that related to the barriers table. (main_id records 11709-13847)

This is a little example of how I would like it to look in the end:

Barrier_id Main_id

1 11709
    2 11710
    3 11711

...2139 ...13847

etc.

At the moment the main_id field is blank.

I hope this makes my problem clearer.

somewhat clearer

which barrier ids should main_id records 11709-13847 get in the barrier table?

if you are trying to update some barrier ids that have a null main_id, which main_ids should they get?

see? must be me

Answers to your questions:

which barrier ids should main_id records 11709-13847 get in the barrier table? BARRIER_ID 1-2139

if you are trying to update some barrier ids that have a null main_id, which main_ids should they get? NO, THERE ARE NO NULL VALUES