Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ontape -N

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4

    Question Unanswered: ontape -N

    We are running OnLine Informix7.22 on a unix machine. We have problems on turning off the transaction protocol as user informix with the commands ontape -N, ontape -s -L 0 -N, ontape -s -N. We set the TAPEDEV to /dev/null, but nothing changed. We always get the error code "Invalid logging change to mydbs". The same message appears when we are trying to change the logging with onmonitor. What could be the problem? Any idea?
    Thank you,

    murkesilence
    Last edited by murkesilence; 09-03-02 at 09:03.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bonn/Germany
    Posts
    152

    Re: ontape -N

    Originally posted by murkesilence
    We are running OnLine Informix7.22 on a unix machine. We have problems on turning off the transaction protocol as user informix with the commands ontape -N, ontape -s -L 0 -N, ontape -s -N. We set the TAPEDEV to /dev/null, but nothing changed. We always get the error code "Invalid logging change to mydbs". The same message appears when we are trying to change the logging with onmonitor. What could be the problem? Any idea?
    Thank you,

    murkesilence
    I guess that your database is "mode ansi". If this is the case
    your are not allowed to turn logging off, no way.
    Bad luck.

    You can check if your database is in "mode ansi" with the following select against the sysmaster database:

    select name, is_ansi
    from sysdatabases
    where name = <mydbname>;

    HTH.

    Best regards

    Eric
    --
    IT-Consulting Herber
    www.herber-consulting.de

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4

    ontape -N and is_ansi

    This isn't our problem, because our database is not ansi.

    Any other idea?
    Murkesilence

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bonn/Germany
    Posts
    152

    Re: ontape -N and is_ansi

    Originally posted by murkesilence
    This isn't our problem, because our database is not ansi.

    Any other idea?
    Murkesilence
    7.22 is a really old version, I would recommend an update to
    7.31....

    Create the stores7 database:

    - dbaccessdemo7 -log

    Try to turn logging off afterwards:

    - ontape -N stores7

    Does this work ?

    If yes, switch your databaseserver to quiescent mode
    (onmode -uy) and try it once again for your database.

    If it doesn't work, open a case with informix tech support.


    HTH.

    Best regards

    Eric
    --
    IT-Consulting Herber
    www.herber-consulting.de

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Yes, I agree with Eric. I know version 7.23 had a similiar problem with ontape and logging. Have you check your release notes ? Version 7.31 - I believe uc5 or higher is a very stable datbase.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    534
    They are working on a 7.31.UD3 version already...
    rws

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4

    ontape -N

    Thank you, we will see if we can update our system.

    What about Informix 7.31-UC4-1?
    Regards,

    murkesilence

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    The 2 I worked with the must were uc5/uc7 and I believe there was some major changes after uc4 - I believe in regards to backups/restores. Both uc5/uc7 were extremely stable environments.

    Good luck.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    534
    If you have a maintenance agreement, the upgrade to 7.31.UD3 is free...
    rws

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    1

    Red face ontape -s -B mydb

    I get this same error when using the command:

    Code:
    ontape -s -B mydb
    Where "mydb" is a freshly created database. The details from the systemmaster table for this databases record are:

    name: mydb
    partnum: 4196542
    owner: informix
    created: 02/12/2008
    is_logging: 0
    is_buff_log: 0
    is_ansi: 0
    is_nls: 0
    flags: 20480
    The Informix server version is 10. Anyone have any ideas where I am going wrong?

    Thanks in advance,

    Gareth.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •