Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Voorburg (Netherlands)
    Posts
    14

    Unhappy Unanswered: I'm having some problems

    Hello,
    I learning db2, and i'm making same databases and stuff. Now, I loged on as db2admin so i must have sysadm rights. But when i try to creat a database i don't have enough rights.
    What can i do about this??

    tnks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    3

    Re: I'm having some problems

    Hi,

    check if the user db2admin has a local system admin authority on your machine. i assume that you run your test on a PC.

    wbr

    aman

    Originally posted by mkrijt
    Hello,
    I learning db2, and i'm making same databases and stuff. Now, I loged on as db2admin so i must have sysadm rights. But when i try to creat a database i don't have enough rights.
    What can i do about this??

    tnks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Voorburg (Netherlands)
    Posts
    14

    Re: I'm having some problems

    Originally posted by aman
    Hi,

    check if the user db2admin has a local system admin authority on your machine. i assume that you run your test on a PC.

    wbr

    aman
    I'm indeed working on a pc under w2k prof. I'm using my pc as server.
    The user db2admin has admin rights so I don't understand why it isn't working.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    11
    I had the same problem and it turned out to be that even Administrator was missing some rights...
    I don't have my v7.2 quick start book with me, but it states the rights you need in there... four rights that I remember.
    It's in the Administrative Tools, Locals Security Admin, Local Policies, Users Right Assignments.
    Hope this helps!
    DB2 Rules

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Voorburg (Netherlands)
    Posts
    14

    Question

    Originally posted by db2rules
    I had the same problem and it turned out to be that even Administrator was missing some rights...
    I don't have my v7.2 quick start book with me, but it states the rights you need in there... four rights that I remember.
    It's in the Administrative Tools, Locals Security Admin, Local Policies, Users Right Assignments.
    Hope this helps!
    DB2 Rules
    No it doesn't help me. I am a compleet newbie and I have no idee where I can chance these settings. If you/somebody could explain this to me, I would be very thankfull.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    11
    I finally found the doc...
    In windows, go to:
    start
    settings
    control panel
    administrative tools
    local security policy
    local policies
    user rights assignment

    you need insure the user (administrator in your case I think) has these policy rights:
    - Act as part of the operating system
    - Create token object
    - Increase quotas
    - Replace a process level token
    Warning, the username you add might need to have your machine name or domain associated with it, ie: domain\userid or machineid\userid
    Hope this helps.. it's been a long time since I did this and I am, after all, a DB2 for z/OS DBA.

    Here's an IBM website that should help if you have any problems:
    http://www-3.ibm.com/cgi-bin/db2www/...7i6db2i617.htm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    141
    ... and just another one:

    Fixpack 5 put the following APAR
    JR16199 ENFORCE GROUP NAMES TO BE 8 CHARACTERS OR LESS IN DBM CFG

    If you're running V7.1 before Fixpack 5, DB2 allows you to update the DBM CFG using SYSADM_GROUP with Group name > 8 Chars. But it doesn't recognize the members of the group (I suppose, DB2 asks the Security System for a group with 8 Chars).

    Example:
    You have the group Administrators defined on W2K.
    You change your CFG:
    UPDATE DBM CFG USING SYSADM_GROUP Administrators
    (No error. Great.)

    At runtime, DB2 will use just "Administ" for asking the security system!!! And you don't get the the results you wish :-(

    As for fixpack 5, the bug is corrected.
    Rodney Krick

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    71

    check your DBM CONFIG

    in the CLP, type GET DBM CONFIG
    check the line where it says:

    SYSADM group name = xxx

    Check if your DB2ADMIN id belong in that group.

    hth,
    oliver

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •