Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    3

    Red face Unanswered: System calls from store procedures

    Hi , Somebody could helpme ?

    I have a simple sentence like this

    system "usr/bin/ls" <--- this instruction is in storeprocedure

    when this instruction is executed by superuser informix, it works fine
    but if any other user execute the same sentence the code error
    return -668 System command cannot be executed.

    Thx fyt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Try system "/usr/bin/ls". Also, what are the permission setting for ls ? Which username(s) are explictly connecting to informix that are having this problem - and how are they defined on the unix box ? You also may have to manually set some environment variable in your sp. But try the absolute path and let me know.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    3
    Originally posted by rnealejr
    Try system "/usr/bin/ls". Also, what are the permission setting for ls ? Which username(s) are explictly connecting to informix that are having this problem - and how are they defined on the unix box ? You also may have to manually set some environment variable in your sp. But try the absolute path and let me know.
    Hi;

    The user have total permissions, in fact that users make telnets and work with onstat , dbschema etc. every day and don't have any problem, but if they want to use that sp the error -668 followed by the -1 appear, my point is: What are the necessary conditions in the OS
    to aceppt operating-systems calls? .

    Why only informix can do that and my personal user don´t.

    My user can shuttdown the DB and kill users , so I don´t understand.

    Thanks for your time.
    Last edited by fermex; 10-03-02 at 15:51.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    534
    As rnealejr statet before, you might have to set an evironment. What are the permission for the 'ls' command?
    rws

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
    Posts
    3
    Originally posted by Roelwe
    As rnealejr statet before, you might have to set an evironment. What are the permission for the 'ls' command?
    the permissions are:

    -r-xr-xr-x

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    534
    What happens if you create a shell file with permissions 777:

    test.ksh
    . /usr/<YOURUSER>/.profile
    /usr/bin/ls

    Instead of executing the /usr/bin/ls, try the test.ksh and see what happens.
    rws

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •