I am somewhat new to VB scripting in ActiveX and have this general question.

I think I understand the concepts of objects, properties, methods, etc. And I have indeed used other's code to do things like open ODBC connections, create record sets, read and update rows of tables, etc.

I am using DTS now to try and import FileSystemObject text file data into a table. From within ActiveX I am having no luck in getting the table inserted. I can read all I want, but I just can't update. However, the more I think about it, this isn't the best way to do the job.

If I get out of the ActiveX Task in which I am having trouble, and create a Transform Data Task using the Text File (Source) connection for the source and the SQL Server connectino for the target, I can accomplish exactly what I want. The DataPumpTask invoked inserts rows exactly like I need them to. The problem is that I need to run this for a set of individual text files which are only dynamically known. That is I will read a set of rows from another table, which will tell me which files by file name to load into this work table.

So ideally what i need to do is to invoke the Transform Data Task that I created in the DTS Designer from within the ActiveX Task, and process the Transform Data Task many times only changing the File Name property.

I can see how to do that by some examples in SQL Server books for using ActiveX to drive a Bulk Insert task. In the example it says to use this line to use the Bulk Insert Task object:

Set objTask = objPackage.Tasks.New("DTSBulkInsertTask")

Ok, here is my question. How does one know that "DTSBulkInsertTask" is the string used in VBScript to identify that object? And then furthermore, how am I to look up the Properties for that object so that I can assign them with VBScript code?