Thread: Database design

Database design

Hi all, I am a novice at database designs and wondering if any one of you can help me.
    I am going to create a database with 3 core tables.
    Professors, Courses, software.
    The relationship between each of them will be many to many.
    Their size will grow to a certain point. (If graphed, it would show a decreasing rate in size increase)
    My dilemna is whether
    1. Create one huge table that maps the primary keys of the 3 core tables
    2. Creating 3 additional tables that maps 2 primary keys of the tables (ProfID&CourseID, ProfID&SoftID, SoftID&CourseID)

There will certainly be a lot of updates and lookups on this database.
    It will also be attached to a web interface.

Please fill me in on some advantages and disadvantages of using either option.

Thanks

Re: Database design

To answer your question one would need to know more about the relationships. I don't think it's a matter of advantages and disadvantages, it's a matter of getting the CORRECT data model. Perhaps if you supply some more details someone can help.

relationships

Well..to describe the relationships....a professor can teach many courses. A course can be taught by more than one professor.
    One software can be used by many professors and courses. A professor and a course can use more than one software. Well...you get the picture...so it's a many to many relationship between all of them.

Hope this description is clear

Re: relationships

Originally posted by david_setiawan
    Well..to describe the relationships....a professor can teach many courses. A course can be taught by more than one professor.
    One software can be used by many professors and courses. A professor and a course can use more than one software. Well...you get the picture...so it's a many to many relationship between all of them.

Hope this description is clear
    OK, well consider these scenarios: