Unanswered: SQL vs Access Database: Advice Needed Please

Hi,

I am just beginning to look at moving our Access 2000 database(s) to SQL server.

The Access systems we use are back end server databases and front end clients across our workgroup, 5 to 7 users using system 5 days a week, around 10 hours a day.

All Systems are multi-table. Also I have created a intranet for the company and within that, I have a number of ASP pages via IIS4 that access these databases via DSN link, around 40 sites and 120 computers have access to the ASP pages. Can view and insert data in the databases. (Infrequently at the minute may change soon)

One database holds around 130,000 records.

I have been asked to create a new system for the 40 sites, 120 computers to work from, Do I stick with Access or move to SQL and for what reasons?

The front end I am OK with, its what benefits will SQL backend bring.

Hope this information helps.

Many Thanks

Darrell..

Hi,

I’m not good at Access but here is some reason why you should choose SQL server.
    * With “one” sql database you take just a backup from one source, instead of many.
    * You can take backup on the transactions logs.
    * Sql is a transaction based service but Access is a “file-based” system in it’s own runtime environment.
    * You can “trace” activity on SQL server. To be honest I don’t know if you can do that with Access.
    * The amount you write about (130,000 rows, 120 PC’s connected…) is nothing unusual for a sql server. You may get problem but that is depending on database design and/or hardware in that case.

/Mats

Can you be more specific about the front end? Are you using the data access pages that ship with access 2000 for the web deployment, or a traditional ASP/ADO connectoin to a file server w/Access?