Unhappy Unanswered: Slow DB access from 2000 & XP

One of my clients runs the backend of an Access 97 DB on an NT 4 server and whenever accessing it from 2000 or XP machine it seems to take forever to load and perform any operation in it. When the database is opened on an NT 4 Workstation however the performance is great, it takes no time for any of the operations. When the backend is run off of a 2000 Pro or XP machine there is no speed issues accessing from any OS platform.

I have now tested it using a combination of SP2 & SP3 on the 2000 client, and SP5 and SP6 on the server and running Access 97 and 2000, but still haven't had any luck. I've looked into several articals on Microsoft and tried some things but still no success. I feel as if it is more related to a network communication issue than a DB programming problem but not being a programmer myself can't say 100%. The DB backend is about 7.5MB and the front end is about 12MB.

I'm at my witts end and getting more grey hairs the more I work on this. The actual programmers are positive that it has nothing to do with their programming and so aren't a whole lot of help with solutions. If anyone has some idea's for me to try please let me know I would really appreciate some experienced help.

Thx.

I think we are experiencing the same sort of problems as you are. We have NT4 SP6 servers using Access 2000 on the workstations. We had no problems when we used Access 97, but are having major problems with our current configuration. Our network people say we don't have any network traffic problems but the performance is still slow when using Access 2000.

I have experienced major differences with the startup of the application from 2 minutes with 1 or 2 Users up to 5 minutes and more with up to 10 concurrent Users. To get round this I have pre created the toolbars and the startup time is now around 2 minutes. It would seem the connection to the Office 9.0 object library was the main culprit here.