Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    78

    Unanswered: its still showing dedicated server

    I have configured MTS .My init.ora and tnsnames.ora gove below



    Parameters added for MTS in INIT.ora File:

    mts_service=ORCL
    mts_dispatchers="(address=(protocol=tcp)(host=10.1 1.225.203))(dispatchers=5)(port
    =1528)"


    Entry in TNSNAME.ORA File
    =========================
    mts_conn =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.11.225.203)(PORT=1528))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = ORCL) (server=shared)
    )





    After restart the mts instance ,i quered the below query it still showing dedicated connection



    SQL> select username,server,status from v$session;

    USERNAME SERVER STATUS
    ------------------------------ --------- --------
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    SYS DEDICATED ACTIVE



    Any one any idea it should be appreciated
    Regards
    mohan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    204

    Re: its still showing dedicated server

    I don't have access to the doc's right now, but here is a sample of MTS parameters in an init.ora files for a database where we user MTS. It seems that there are a few more parameters than you have defined. Without access ot the docs, I'm not sure if they are manadatory. In any case, here are my MTS parameters:

    mts_dispatchers="tcp,5"
    mts_max_dispatchers=40
    mts_servers=5
    mts_max_servers=10
    mts_service=masterdb
    mts_listener_address="(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(port =1521)(host=99.99.99.99))


    Also, this is an 8.0.5 database. Not sure if MTS configuration changed in later versions.

    HTH,
    Patrick



    Originally posted by mohan
    I have configured MTS .My init.ora and tnsnames.ora gove below



    Parameters added for MTS in INIT.ora File:

    mts_service=ORCL
    mts_dispatchers="(address=(protocol=tcp)(host=10.1 1.225.203))(dispatchers=5)(port
    =1528)"


    Entry in TNSNAME.ORA File
    =========================
    mts_conn =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.11.225.203)(PORT=1528))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = ORCL) (server=shared)
    )





    After restart the mts instance ,i quered the below query it still showing dedicated connection



    SQL> select username,server,status from v$session;

    USERNAME SERVER STATUS
    ------------------------------ --------- --------
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    SYS DEDICATED ACTIVE



    Any one any idea it should be appreciated
    Regards
    mohan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    78

    Re: its still showing dedicated server

    Originally posted by mohan
    I have modified my MTS .My init.ora and tnsnames.ora givene below
    and 8.1.6 version of database

    Parameters added for MTS in INIT.ora File:

    mts_dispatchers="tcp,5"
    mts_max_dispatchers=40
    mts_servers=5
    mts_max_servers=10
    mts_service=masterdb
    mts_listener_address="(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(port =1521)(host=99.99.99.99))


    Entry in TNSNAME.ORA File
    =========================
    mts_conn =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.11.225.203)(PORT=1528))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = ORCL) (server=shared)
    )




    After restart the mts instance ,i quered the below query it still showing dedicated connection



    SQL> select username,server,status from v$session;

    USERNAME SERVER STATUS
    ------------------------------ --------- --------
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    DEDICATED ACTIVE
    SYS DEDICATED ACTIVE

    But the status is no change.Any idea

    Any one any idea it should be appreciated
    Regards
    mohan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    204
    Try connecting as a user other than SYS. All of the sessions where there is no username listed are the Oracle background processes. I'd be willing to bet that they always get a Dedicated server.

    Try connecting from a remote box, or from the server but with the @sid in the connect string, as a user other than sys. Then run your query again.

    Also, have a peek at v$dispatcher and v$shared_server. They will give some information on how the MTS pieces are working.

    Let us know the results.

    HTH,
    Patrick

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    482

    Cool

    If you do MTS changes, you have to restart your listener as well.

    Also not clear what is your connect string. If connecting w/o service name, then the connections with be with BEQ protocol and always dedicated.


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa
    OCP - DBA

    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    78

    i am already using connection string

    Originally posted by clio_usa
    If you do MTS changes, you have to restart your listener as well.

    Also not clear what is your connect string. If connecting w/o service name, then the connections with be with BEQ protocol and always dedicated.


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa
    OCP - DBA
    Visit our Web Site
    .
    Thanks for ur prompt reply .As for u say i am already using connection string but connecting to database without using string .After connecting database it showing service name which instance i configured for mts.Please clarify what is W/o service.

    Regards
    mohan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    78

    Re: i am already using connection string

    Originally posted by mohan
    Thanks for ur prompt reply .As for u say i am already using connection string but connecting to database without using string .After connecting database it showing service name which instance i configured for mts.Please clarify what is W/o service.

    Regards
    mohan

    Hai
    As for you say when i try to connect to database using connection string I am getting below error .Can i modify listerner.ora file,if so which parameters i should modify.I am giving below the tnsnames.ora and listener.ora and inittest.ora file

    SQL> conn internal@test;
    ERROR:
    ORA-12520: TNS:listener could not find available handler for requested type of
    server

    Tnsanems.ora
    ============

    TEST.NIRBEEJA.COM =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.0.0.1)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVER = shared)
    (SERVICE_NAME = test)
    )
    )

    Listener.ora:
    ===========

    # LISTENER.ORA Network Configuration File: D:\Oracle\Ora81\network\admin\listener.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC0))
    )
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.0.0.1)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
    (ORACLE_HOME = d:\Oracle\Ora81)
    (PROGRAM = extproc)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = isola)
    (ORACLE_HOME = d:\Oracle\Ora81)
    (SID_NAME = isola)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = hydmx)
    (ORACLE_HOME = D:\Oracle\Ora81)
    (SID_NAME = hydmx)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = TEST)
    (ORACLE_HOME = D:\Oracle\Ora81)
    (SID_NAME = TEST)
    )
    )


    The follwing parameter i add in init.test.ora

    Inittest.ora
    ============:

    mts_dispatchers="tcp,4"
    mts_max_dispatchers=20
    mts_servers=2
    mts_max_servers=4
    mts_service = TEST
    mts_listener_address= "(address=(protocol=tcp)(host=10.0.0.1)(port=1521) )"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    482

    Cool

    Why you have

    mts_service = TEST

    and

    TEST.NIRBEEJA.COM = ???

    MTS_SERVICE has to match the TNS service name! Do you think they are the same or I am getting sleepy???


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa
    OCP - DBA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •