Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: DB Design Question

I have to build a DB using SQL Server 2000 that lets me have many-to-many relationships between Company, Contact, and Address tables. That is, each 'entity' (Company, Contact or Address) can have many of the other two entities related to it.

I've never built anything like this before. I've come up with two possible scenarios to do this. Can someone give me some input on the best way to achieve this. Here are the two scenarios I'm looking at:

Scenario 1: Use one Junction table to create the many-to-many relationship.

Company
    -------
    CompanyId(PK)
    CompanyName

Contact
    -------
    ContactId(PK)
    ContactName

Address
    -------
    AddressId(PK)
    Address

JunctionTable (PK made up of all 3 FKs)
    -------------
    CompanyId(FK)
    ContactId(FK)
    AddressId(FK)

Or
    Scenario 2: Use different junction tables to create M:M relationships between each pair of tables.

Company
    -------
    CompanyId(PK)
    CompanyName

Contact
    -------
    ContactId(FK)
    ContactName

Address
    -------
    AddressId(PK)
    Address

JuncCompCont
    ------------
    CompanyId(FK)
    ContactId(FK)

JuncContAddr
    ------------
    ContactId(FK)
    AddressId(FK)

JuncCompAddr
    ------------
    CompanyId(FK)
    AddressId(FK)

Since I've never built this, I can't say for sure both will work the same way. The DB has to be normalized too. I also have to consider how difficult it will be to create different views as well as the forms used to enter the data.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
    Anthony

My vote's for #1.
    Reason: That's how I've always done it. The other way seems too redundant for me.