Post Unanswered: trouble with ADO 2.1

I am having some massive problem with ADO 2.1 going over to a MS SQL database. I have already set up the DSN and have called it chicagowebs. The call to DAO_WorkspaceOpenConnection() keeps failing. The error says "invalid parameter". Can anyone tell me what it can be or how to solve this? I have never worked with ADO before.

//for the SQL database
    iRc = DAO_NewDBEngineDBEngine (NULL, 1, LOCALE_NEUTRAL, 0, &CAOHEngine);

iRc = DAO_DBEngineCreateWorkspace (CAOHEngine, NULL, "WORKSP1", "userid", "password", CA_VariantInt (DAOConst_dbUseODBC), &DAOOWorkspace);

iRc = CA_CStringToBSTR ("chicagowebs", &bstrConn);

iRc = DAO_WorkspaceOpenConnection (CAOHEngine, &error, "WORKSP1", CA_VariantInt(DAOConst_dbDriverPrompt),
    CA_VariantBool (0), CA_VariantBSTR (bstrConn),&DAOOConnection);
    Telemarketing right from your PC.
    www.dialeronline.net

Can you provide the code behind the functions ?

No I can't because these are actually ADO functions, not mine!
    www.dialeronline.net

What language are you coding in ? These are not ado object methods. DAO normally references an access database. And the fact that the functions you are using reference a db workspace makes me even more concerned that these were created for access developers who needed to use ado. How are you able to reference these functions in your code ?

Yes. In fact the first few function calls work fine. I have found in the desctiption of the error 800a0bb9 - arguments are the wrong type are out of range, or in conflict with one another. But which parameter?
    www.dialeronline.net