Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: [Resolved] Set Match: to 'Any Part of Field'

    Can someone please point me in the right direction.

    I'm trying to set the Access (inbuilt) 'Find' function (Ctrl F) 'Match:'
    combo to 'Any Part of Field' other than the defualt 'Whole Field'.

    ie. I wan't to set the default TO 'Any Part of Field'.


    Regards,
    Bruce.
    Last edited by Bruce Fox; 11-25-02 at 19:58.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6
    *Bump*

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    120

    HELP FILES: Sometimes they HELP !!

    Change default behavior for find or replace operations
    On the Tools menu, click Options.


    Click the Edit/Find tab.


    Under Default Find/Replace Behavior, click the option you want to use.
    Note Changes made to this setting don't take effect until the next time you start Microsoft Access. To change the behavior for a specific find or replace operation, choose Find or Replace from the Edit menu, and then set the appropriate options in the dialog box.


    MICHAEL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    ... and you know what happens if you bump a post twice, right?

    it sits in the list showing you as the author and you as the last responder, total 2 replies, looking exactly like question/answer/thanks

    rudy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6

    Re: HELP FILES: Sometimes they HELP !!

    Originally posted by mrabrams
    Change default behavior for find or replace operations
    On the Tools menu, click Options.


    Click the Edit/Find tab.


    Under Default Find/Replace Behavior, click the option you want to use.
    Note Changes made to this setting don't take effect until the next time you start Microsoft Access. To change the behavior for a specific find or replace operation, choose Find or Replace from the Edit menu, and then set the appropriate options in the dialog box.


    MICHAEL
    mrabrams,
    Unfortunately that doesn't seen to give the option to default to "Any Part.."
    I'll still have a play at work tomorrow in case I missed something.

    Cheers,
    Bruce.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leicester - UK
    Posts
    820
    tools --> options --> then change find options to one of the ones i've 'star'ed
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails screen.jpg  
    Definition of a Beginner, Someone who doesn't know the rules.

    Definition of an Expert, Someone who knows when to ignore the rules.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6

    Resolved

    Thanks Guys,

    Resolved.

    When I was at home testing it didn't seem to work as I was testing
    with newly created DB. However, at work it set up fine (created the Default).

    The DB is multi access on a M$2000 LAN, and all original efforts/ideas
    didn't seem to work; although I new it was a simple - acheivable
    option!! (I seen to recall earlier versions of Access giving the option
    of 'Any part...'etc - this isn't as self evident)

    Regards,
    Bruce.
    Last edited by Bruce Fox; 11-25-02 at 20:18.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6

    Re: HELP FILES: Sometimes they HELP !!

    Originally posted by mrabrams
    HELP FILES: Sometimes they HELP !!

    MICHAEL
    Thanks for advice. However, thats how I ended up here, because
    of the lack of info I could glean from the 'Help' and other sources.

    Regards,
    Bruce.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •