Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Unanswered: Going Back a version in Access

    I have a prety big problem. I have created a app in access 2000 but need to deploy to 2000 and 97, but now it will not convert backwards. It is giving me a unknown data type error. I have been threw the code and cant find what it means by that, can any one look at this and help me figure it out?
    Regards
    Jim
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    33
    hi,

    i am having the same problem. can anyone help us PLS?

    Anwar

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Hamilton,Ontario
    Posts
    132

    Re: Going Back a version in Access

    Originally posted by JDionne
    I have a prety big problem. I have created a app in access 2000 but need to deploy to 2000 and 97, but now it will not convert backwards. It is giving me a unknown data type error. I have been threw the code and cant find what it means by that, can any one look at this and help me figure it out?
    Regards
    Jim
    What error are you getting?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Hamilton,Ontario
    Posts
    132
    Originally posted by mdaislam
    hi,

    i am having the same problem. can anyone help us PLS?

    Anwar
    http://www.pitt.edu/~document/nt_acc...%20to%20Access

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10

    DataType Error

    You need to go through your tables.
    You have a field that is a double or decimal number that is too "big" for Access 97.
    I ran into this with a db that I am developing for my school.
    I ended up going through my tables, deleting (this was a copy of the db of course) tables until I figured out which table it was.
    A process of binary elimination may be quicker than one table at a time.
    i.e. Delete half the tables. If you get the error, the problem lies in one (or more) of the remaining tables. If you don't get the error, the problem lies in one (or more) of the deleted tables.

    I found that I didn't need the higher level of precision that ACC2000 used by default.

    GL

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10

    Decimal with precision: 28

    I just noticed your attached zip file.
    You have a number of fields in two local tables (Table:_PCRKMS_METRICS_SUM, Table_PCRKMS_Local_Data) that are decimal with a precision of 28. This is huge, and I hope not necessary.

    Again. GL

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665
    I canged all the percision to 3 and still had no fortune, though u are right is one of those tables. any other suggestions?
    Jim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10

    What I did

    For the database that I created and had to port backwards, I changed all my decimal to single.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: What I did

    That worked like a champ, but the forms imported corupt, any answer to that?
    Jim


    Originally posted by Pelman
    For the database that I created and had to port backwards, I changed all my decimal to single.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10

    ADO vs DAO

    You may need to be explicit in your referrence to ADO or DAO objects.
    Access 97 defaults to DAO and Access 2000 defaults to ADO.
    So
    Dim record_set as Recordset
    should become
    Dim record_set as DAO.Recordset '(or ADODB.Recordset)

    The other option is to make sure that only one of these two object libraries is referrenced in your database. That way you don't have to be explicit in your Dim referrences.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: ADO vs DAO

    Do you know wich reff libarary is the ADO library?
    Jim
    Originally posted by Pelman
    You may need to be explicit in your referrence to ADO or DAO objects.
    Access 97 defaults to DAO and Access 2000 defaults to ADO.
    So
    Dim record_set as Recordset
    should become
    Dim record_set as DAO.Recordset '(or ADODB.Recordset)

    The other option is to make sure that only one of these two object libraries is referrenced in your database. That way you don't have to be explicit in your Dim referrences.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665
    Threw the process of elimination I have found that my subform is whats giveing me the problem, but my subform is juat a form with a data source to a local table, there is no code except standard open form text.
    Has anyone ever seen this and or know how to fix it?

    Jim

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    10
    With the database I am back converting, I had it start to throw up network/disk access errors. I never figured out why it was doing this, but finally I created another db and imported everything that I needed. This cleared up my unexplained problem.
    It only took me a couple of minutes.

    GL

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665
    WOOHOOOO it was a data type error on the subform. I had a few text boxes set up to do some d lookups and the data type was wrong. Works like a champ now
    Thanx for the help
    Jim

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4

    Re: Going Back a version in Access

    Access 2002 (XP) will allow to convert a 2002 or 2000 format to a 97 format using the menu options:

    Tools,
    Database Utilities,
    Convert database,
    To Access 97 file format

    Christian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •