Thread: Ms Acess97

Question Unanswered: Ms Acess97-Save info from calculated field.

I am new to programing and I am self taught. I'm working on an inventory database. I want to save information from calculated fields on a form to a table. How?
    Last edited by groce185; 11-22-02 at 11:06.

Calculated fields not needed to be stored.

Any time, when you refer the records in forms, OR in query, you can make calculation field and use it.

But if you want to save calculated information still. then you may add 1 Or required fields in Main table, which you use for source fields of calculation.

In Ms ACCESS, you can modify table structure and add field.

you can create a variable and set it = the value of the caluclated text box, then using a sql update step update the info into a table.
    hth
    Jim

Originally posted by JDionne
    you can create a variable and set it = the value of the caluclated text box, then using a sql update step update the info into a table.
    hth
    Jim
    I thank you for your responce. The varible you speak of, where do I create it? And SQL update step? A macro?

How is your form set up?
    Do you have to click on a button to get the data to populate the form, and the caluclated text boxes or do they automatiacly populate when the form opens?

because you can do it in a few diff ways. The esiest thing to do would be to make an update query to the table and put the formula in the query. when the form loads you can put in the code
    docmd.openquery "query_Name" and it will run that query and make the updates.

If you hae to push a button to make the form populate then you can put the same bit of code in the on click action of the button.

Let me know how you are working your form and maybe I can help a bit more
    Jim

How is your form set up?
    Do you have to click on a button to get the data to populate the form, and the caluclated text boxes or do they automatiacly populate when the form opens?