Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Timbaktu
    Posts
    185

    Unanswered: Restore Database on the Network

    We have got a production box and a test box in sybase and we are trying to restore the production database on the test box by giving the production box drive as the restore from Location.

    But everytime it's giving us the following error :

    sp_volchanged' system stored procedure after fulfilling any volume change
    request from the Backup Server.
    Backup Server: 4.26.2.1: Volume validation error: failed to obtain device
    information, device: C:\WINNT40\system32/ F:\Dumps\Dtemp002\fulldump.dmp error:
    No such file or directory.


    Please help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    606
    Do you have access rights to that drive? I've seen this error when permissions were set up incorrectly.
    Thanks,

    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Timbaktu
    Posts
    185

    Yes we do have the permission to that folder

    Yes we do have the permission to that folder

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    606
    Does "F:\Dumps\Dtemp002\fulldump.dmp" exist? Does ASE on NT run as a different user -- if so that user will need perms on the network to get to it.

    What command are you running to dump the database? Try the '\\servername\share' method instead.
    Thanks,

    Matt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    159
    Originally posted by MattR
    Does "F:\Dumps\Dtemp002\fulldump.dmp" exist? Does ASE on NT run as a different user -- if so that user will need perms on the network to get to it.

    Does the ASE run as the local system account or as network account. Services running a local system accounts cannot access (Windows) network resources.

    Why not configure the backup server on the production server as a backup server to the development box.

    Add the following to your %SYBASE%\ini\sql.ini file on the development box

    [production_bs]
    query=tcp,production_host,5001
    master=tcp,production_host,5001


    Exec the following on the development ASE in ISQL

    sp_addserver 'production_bs', ASEnterprise
    go


    You should then be able to load the database dump files physically stored on your production box over the network using the prodution backup server, thus...

    use master
    go
    load database db_name from "d:\db_dumps\db_name.dmp" at production_bs
    go
    online database db_name
    go

    Obviously some substitution of names paths etc is required here.

    Richard.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Timbaktu
    Posts
    185
    Hi Richard,

    I tried the same thing as suggested by you and I'm getting the following:

    "Connot open Connection to the Slave site "Production_BS"

    Since I already ran the sp_addserver command, so do you think it's still the permission issue over the network as the SQL Serevr is running under the local account!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Timbaktu
    Posts
    185

    Thanks everyone

    As now we are able to restore the Test database by taking the dump file on the production box.

    Also is it possible to restore the database on the Sybase with the file being lying anywhere on the NETWORK?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    159
    Originally posted by sqlserver2k
    Hi Richard,

    I tried the same thing as suggested by you and I'm getting the following:

    "Connot open Connection to the Slave site "Production_BS"

    Since I already ran the sp_addserver command, so do you think it's still the permission issue over the network as the SQL Serevr is running under the local account!
    Did you add the entry to the interfaces file?

    Can you ping the production host running the backup server from the Dev box.

    Richard.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208
    Hiya,

    YES it is possible to restore a database with the dump file across a network.

    All you need to make sure is the sql.ini or the interfaces file contain the remote backup server name same as the actual name of the backup server(NOT alias). Also syservers entry should be consistent and must be default as if is another open server.

    Cheers
    Willy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •