Angry Unanswered: shared memory not initialized

I am very new to IDS, so i will ask stupid questions
    We have an old informix on a SCO 5, we got a new upgrade IDS 9.3, and we installed it on a redhat 7.3, the installation did fine.
    I did not install the old IDS we have on SCO, and the one who did that, is long gone, so hes not around to help use out here.
    After 4 hours reading the manual, i got confused, im not sure where to go or what to do now?
    I made the onconfig, allmoste default, but changed dbservername, tempspace, rootpath, rootsize, nettype and i changed the sqlhosts, to match nettype, dbservername in onconfig.
    After i did that, i tryed the onmonitor. The error i get when, im running "onmonitor, mode, statup" is

"shared memory not initialized for INFORMIXSERVER '<NULL>'"

Im not sure what i have to do here, anyone here that can give me a hand??

Re: shared memory not initialized

I think you must set INFORMIXSERVER in your Enviroment with the same Value as in your sqlhosts.

export INFORMIXSERVER=<dbservername>

You must add this to your global profile.

Originally posted by reso
    I am very new to IDS, so i will ask stupid questions
    We have an old informix on a SCO 5, we got a new upgrade IDS 9.3, and we installed it on a redhat 7.3, the installation did fine.
    I did not install the old IDS we have on SCO, and the one who did that, is long gone, so hes not around to help use out here.
    After 4 hours reading the manual, i got confused, im not sure where to go or what to do now?
    I made the onconfig, allmoste default, but changed dbservername, tempspace, rootpath, rootsize, nettype and i changed the sqlhosts, to match nettype, dbservername in onconfig.
    After i did that, i tryed the onmonitor. The error i get when, im running "onmonitor, mode, statup" is

"shared memory not initialized for INFORMIXSERVER '<NULL>'"

Im not sure what i have to do here, anyone here that can give me a hand??

didnt help much