Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    7

    Angry Unanswered: Access 2000 Lock Files

    I created an Access 2000 database on a shared drive. I was able to make changes to the design until recently. Now when I try to change the design of a form for example, I get the message "You do not have exclusive access to the database at this time. If you proceed to make changes, you may not be able to save them later." I can't make any changes even if I copy the database to a local drive. Can anyone explain "lock files" and how to perminently get rid of them in a shared drive environment?

    David

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    6

    Found this under the help search for "exclusive"

    Specify whether an Access database opens in shared or exclusive mode by default
    This procedure affects the way a Microsoft Access database is opened only on your computer. It does not affect the default for users on other computers.

    On the Tools menu, click Options.


    Click the Advanced tab.


    If you want others to be able to open the Access database at the same time you have it open, click Shared.
    If you want sole access to the Access database when you have it open, click Exclusive.

    Notes

    When you open an Access database in a multiuser environment, you can open it in exclusive and/or read-only mode, even if you specify shared mode by default. For more information, click .


    If you set up security in your multiuser environment, you can ensure that users don't open an Access database exclusively by denying them Open Exclusive permission for the database. For more information on removing permissions, click .


    When you open an Access database file (.mdb) in shared mode, Microsoft Access also creates a locking information file (.ldb) with the same file name (for example, Northwind.ldb) and in the same folder as the database file. This locking information file stores the computer name (such as mypc) and security name (such as Admin) of each shared user of the database. Microsoft Access uses this information to control concurrency. In most cases, Microsoft Access automatically deletes the locking information file when the last user closes the database file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •