Unanswered: database version control

I would like to learn about common practices/ methodologies for managing database version control for an enterprise database.

I am not interested in off-the-shelf data manager type implementations - b/c I have been tasked to use CVS. In my particular situation, we have a production db with ongoing bug repair and ongoing side projects (big/small) that are rolled in periodically. Any words of wisdom are appreciated in advance.

--> kv148

Arrow Re: database version control

Someone - Anyone - Please reply to this post. I am in great need of help on this topic and truely need to hear what some of you experts out there are doing -so- I can learn from others rather than invent my own way. -kv148

Hi,

I'm a contractor so I've worked on a few sites. All I can say is that any methodologie I've seen was always home grown. I wouldn't for one minute say there isn't anything formal, but as yet I haven't seen a formal method in use. You have to imagine, there might be good tools for the database, and there might be good tools for the client side application, but I don't believe there is anything for both - and when both are usually so tightly integrated (rightly or wrongly) we have a problem.

I have myself developed (at the request of the client) schema comparison tools etc (prod vs. dev vs. test). I've also been on sites where the front end tools were tightly controlled with VCS (usually through MS Api's).

What I'm trying to say is that while tight version control might be out there, all of the sites I have been on have not used it - and therefore I'm not aware of it. Maybe this is one case where you have to roll your own?

I'm also open to anyones suggestions as to some integrated Oracle tool that proves me wrong.

I know it doesn't help, but I wish it did.
    Bill

Question