Arrow Unanswered: DBA future and Career Porpects

Hello Guys:

I have just joined this forum today. I hope you all had a great Christmas.

Well, I am a DBA (Oracle+DB2) with 9 years of experience. I am certified 9i DBA. I have expertise in UNIX system admin and Veritas VM / VCS Cluster Administration. And I also have other software skills. I have worked at great companies like Oracle,Siebel,HP etc. Now I am a Senior Level DBA.

I have seen DBAs with 15-20 years of experience - still doing DBA tasks and mentoring junior DBAs. I wonder where do I stand now and where I go from here? Do I have to do the same hands-on DBA tasks throughout my career? Sometimes I feel like I should be in a better position than what I am today. But I am not sure where everybody stands so far DBA career is concerned.

I will really appreciate if you can tell me where you stand today and where you want to be in near future. I think its high time for me to evaluate my career options again.

Thanks in advance.
    -Amit

IMHO, the traditional task oriented role of the DBA is dead. Most tasks assigned to the DBA staff can either be automated or eliminated with new features of the software. Sure, there are those who have 20 years of experience that will argue with that, but hey, they've been doing the same thing for 20 years, do you really think they're going to change now?

Instead, I see the role of the DBA changing from an Administrative role to an Architectual role. The DBA will need to understand the business and craft solutions with off the shelf components to satisfy the needs of the business. This role will vary in each company. Some companies will have their DBAs do backend development. Some companies will make their DBAs responsible for all of the software that runs an application (http server, middle tier, backend, ERP, etc.). Some companies will have their DBAs responsible for populating the DataWarehouse from the all the systems a company owns.