Unanswered: Error while creating database: ORA-03113: end-of-file on communication channel

I am new to the Oracle database world and I am trying to install Oracle 9i Personal on a laptop (Pentium 4, 512 MB RAM, Win 2K Pro, 9GB free disk). The installation appears to proceed as expected until the database is being created. I consistantly get the following error message, not matter what type of database is being created, e.g. warehouse, OLTP, etc.:

ORA-03113: end-of-file on communication channel

I have also tried running the script created by the database configuration assisstant but get the same results. I have included part of the batch file as well as the output from the create database command. The directories are created and the files are placed in the oradata/bcrumly directory and the OracleServiceBCRUMLY service is created and started (it can also be stopped and started without error).

Some more info: The laptop is not connected to a network when the installation occurs, but the laptop is configured to be part of a network. I need the database to work when it is not connected to the network.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Brian

==== Begin partial batch file created by Database Configuration Assisstant ====
    mkdir C:\oracle\admin\bcrumly\bdump
    mkdir C:\oracle\admin\bcrumly\cdump
    mkdir C:\oracle\admin\bcrumly\create
    mkdir C:\oracle\admin\bcrumly\pfile
    mkdir C:\oracle\admin\bcrumly\udump
    mkdir C:\oracle\ora92\database
    mkdir C:\oracle\oradata\bcrumly
    set ORACLE_SID=bcrumly
    C:\oracle\ora92\bin\oradim.exe -new -sid BCRUMLY -startmode m
    C:\oracle\ora92\bin\oradim.exe -edit -sid BCRUMLY -startmode a
    C:\oracle\ora92\bin\orapwd.exe file=C:\oracle\ora92\database\PWDbcrumly.ora password=change_on_install
    C:\oracle\ora92\bin\sqlplus /nolog @C:\oracle\admin\bcrumly\scripts\CreateDB.sql

==== End partial batch file created by Database Configuration Assisstant ====