Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3

    Question Unanswered: Unable to use the declaration: "Dim DBInputby As Database"

    MS Access 2000 does not seem to recognize the keyword 'database'. It always gives the error message "User-defined type not defined" and highlights the code line mentioned above. Please help as this same code was working in a previous application developed in Access. What could have gone wrong this time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    266
    I think that this may be a problem with missing references. Open up a module, click on tools then references. Look for any that are marked missing. Check to make sure that there is a check mark against Microsoft object library 3.50

    David

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    35
    Originally posted by DJN
    I think that this may be a problem with missing references. Open up a module, click on tools then references. Look for any that are marked missing. Check to make sure that there is a check mark against Microsoft object library 3.50

    David
    Hello,

    I had the exact same question last week and some one responded that the problem is using ADO versus DAO and provided a solution to remedy that issue.

    I ended up going another route, but the thread is listed here:
    http://dbforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=641433

    Good luck!

    ~ Joyce

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    35
    Alos, this may help you as it has helped me since I am still learning about ado vs dao. Someone listed these references for finding out about the differences:

    excerpt from http://dbforums.com/t645389.html
    ADO and DAO are two different approaches to getting at data. Both of them have an object named Recordset in their model which holds the data that's returned, but they're different things.

    The following articles should help explain the differences:

    INFO: Issues Migrating from DAO/Jet to ADO/Jet
    http://support.microsoft.com/defaul...=kb;[LN[;225048
    Porting DAO Code to ADO with the Microsoft Jet Provider
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/e...ml/daotoado.asp
    Migrating from DAO to ADO
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/e...toadoupdate.asp
    The ADO Rosetta Stone
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/e...n_adorosest.asp

    Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
    http://I.Am/DougSteele

    Good luck,

    Joyce

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3

    Smile Thanks for your help

    Originally posted by DJN
    I think that this may be a problem with missing references. Open up a module, click on tools then references. Look for any that are marked missing. Check to make sure that there is a check mark against Microsoft object library 3.50

    David
    Thanks a lot,
    The problem was with missing reference of Microsoft DAO v3.6

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs up Thanks

    Originally posted by perlgurl
    Alos, this may help you as it has helped me since I am still learning about ado vs dao. Someone listed these references for finding out about the differences:

    excerpt from http://dbforums.com/t645389.html


    Good luck,

    Joyce
    Thanks,
    I solved my problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •