Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Foreign keys in an ERD

I'm quite new to databases and I feel very confused as to where the foreign keys should go.
    If for example I have an entity called "Sightings" with PK as sightingId which records types of birds and where they were seen (gridReference) and then an entity called location with gridReference as PK and then the actual name of the location. Shall I put a foreign key sightingId in the location entity or shall I put a foreign key gridReference in the sighting entity?

Thanks
    ariane

Re: Foreign keys in an ERD

The key concept here is "one to many". Each Sighting occurs at ONE location, but each Location may be where MANY Signtings occur.

Now, if you implemented the FK by creating a column called sightingId in Location you could only record ONE Sighting at each Location - wrong!

Sightings
    ID, Date, Bird, etc.
    1, 01-Jan-2003, Sparrow
    2, 02-Jan-2003, Duck

Locations
    gridRef, Name, sightingID
    123456, Norwood Lake, 1 <-- can't record any more sightings here!

But if you implement the FK correctly by putting gridReference in the Sightings table then you can have many Sightings records for a Location:

Locations
    gridRef, Name
    123456, Norwood Lake

Sightings
    ID, gridRef, Date, Bird, etc.
    1, 123456, 01-Jan-2003, Sparrow
    2, 123456, 02-Jan-2003, Duck

Thank you very much! So I shoudn't think in terms of parent-child relationship but in terms of multiplicity?
    ariane

Originally posted by abogain
    Thank you very much! So I shoudn't think in terms of parent-child relationship but in terms of multiplicity?
    Well, parent-child is OK as long as you remember that a mother can have many children, but a child can only have one mother. So if you had tables MOTHER and CHILD you would have to put a mother_id in the CHILD table, not a child_id in the MOTHER table!