Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Oracle Console

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41

    Unanswered: Oracle Console

    Hello,
    I'm trying to start Console and after I fill the administrator,
    pwd, and server field, appears this:

    "VTK-1000: unable to connect to management server ... Please verify that you have entered the correct host name and the status of the Oracle Management Server"

    How can I check the status of Management Server? I don't know If the Management Server is fill right...

    Is anybody here who can help me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    191
    You should have installed a management server on one of your servers or on your PC.
    If you have installed and configured this, make sure it is started.

    If it is installed and started and you still cannot connect, make sure your server is reachable from your PC.
    Ruud Schilders
    -----------------
    Oracle DBA
    e-mail : ruud@schilders.it
    URL : www.schilders.it
    Twitter : www.twitter.com/ruudschilders

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41
    I think manager server is installed because if I try to connect from command prompt writing svrmgrl.exe it's successfull... but how can be sure iit's started?

    Originally posted by Ruudboy
    You should have installed a management server on one of your servers or on your PC.
    If you have installed and configured this, make sure it is started.

    If it is installed and started and you still cannot connect, make sure your server is reachable from your PC.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    191
    You cannot connect to the management server with svrmgrl.

    What platform are you on? If you are on Windows NT/2000 you should have a service (Oracle Orahome Management Server or something like that). Make sure it is started.

    Please be aware that logging onto a management server is not the same as logging onto a database.
    You can also log into the database directly without using a management server (Launch standalone)
    Ruud Schilders
    -----------------
    Oracle DBA
    e-mail : ruud@schilders.it
    URL : www.schilders.it
    Twitter : www.twitter.com/ruudschilders

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41
    Yes I use Win2000 platform... but how Can I check If the Management Server is started?
    Is it something like OEMCTRL STATUS .... ?



    Originally posted by Ruudboy
    You cannot connect to the management server with svrmgrl.

    What platform are you on? If you are on Windows NT/2000 you should have a service (Oracle Orahome Management Server or something like that). Make sure it is started.

    Please be aware that logging onto a management server is not the same as logging onto a database.
    You can also log into the database directly without using a management server (Launch standalone)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    191
    Not that I know of ...

    On win2000 goto Control Panel --> Administrative tools --> Services.
    Check the OracleOraHome92ManagementServer service, i should be started.



    Originally posted by ohanus
    Yes I use Win2000 platform... but how Can I check If the Management Server is started?
    Is it something like OEMCTRL STATUS .... ?
    Ruud Schilders
    -----------------
    Oracle DBA
    e-mail : ruud@schilders.it
    URL : www.schilders.it
    Twitter : www.twitter.com/ruudschilders

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41
    Well... I check this but nothing like this with Management Server is not there.

    So it is not installed or only started, isnt it


    Originally posted by Ruudboy
    Not that I know of ...

    On win2000 goto Control Panel --> Administrative tools --> Services.
    Check the OracleOraHome92ManagementServer service, i should be started.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    191
    No, then you have not installed it.

    If you have no Management Server, choose 'Launch standalone' on the login screen of Console.
    With this you can logon directly to the database.
    Ruud Schilders
    -----------------
    Oracle DBA
    e-mail : ruud@schilders.it
    URL : www.schilders.it
    Twitter : www.twitter.com/ruudschilders

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41
    It is really awkward mistake and I aplogize...

    So I've just installed Management Server but when I try to start it, iť's failed... I fill admin/pass wich I create but the error occured (Administrator login credentials are invalid) Where can I set admin credentials for this user?

    Originally posted by Ruudboy
    No, then you have not installed it.

    If you have no Management Server, choose 'Launch standalone' on the login screen of Console.
    With this you can logon directly to the database.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    191
    The default admin user/pass for the management server is
    sysman/oem_temp

    (yeey, my 100th post )
    Ruud Schilders
    -----------------
    Oracle DBA
    e-mail : ruud@schilders.it
    URL : www.schilders.it
    Twitter : www.twitter.com/ruudschilders

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41

    Well done

    YESSSS!!!
    Than you very much Ruud... everything is going well!!!



    Originally posted by Ruudboy
    The default admin user/pass for the management server is
    sysman/oem_temp

    (yeey, my 100th post )

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41

    Ora9i

    I have another question to you ...

    We have Ora8i client and datavase and we want upgrade to Ora9i but database stay 8i... and my question is... will correctly work together?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    191
    Yes, the Oracle9i client can connect to a 8i database.
    Ruud Schilders
    -----------------
    Oracle DBA
    e-mail : ruud@schilders.it
    URL : www.schilders.it
    Twitter : www.twitter.com/ruudschilders

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    41
    Thank you...

    Originally posted by Ruudboy
    Yes, the Oracle9i client can connect to a 8i database.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •