Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rman

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    165

    Unanswered: Rman

    I tried backup by opening sqlplus and enter
    backup full and rc backup full but it don't works.
    Also,I opened OS prompt and after i enter RMAN
    I tried
    BACKUP FULL
    Of course,it don't works.
    In all situations "BACKUP" is unknown command.
    What I am doing wrong?
    Oracle 8.1.7 ,Win2000.
    Installation was like "next,next,finish"
    Thanks for advice,Zvonimir

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Woking
    Posts
    107

    Re: Rman

    Originally posted by zkajfez
    I tried backup by opening sqlplus and enter
    backup full and rc backup full but it don't works.
    Also,I opened OS prompt and after i enter RMAN
    I tried
    BACKUP FULL
    Of course,it don't works.
    In all situations "BACKUP" is unknown command.
    What I am doing wrong?
    Oracle 8.1.7 ,Win2000.
    Installation was like "next,next,finish"
    Thanks for advice,Zvonimir
    Hi,
    Go to DOS Prompt and use the exp command(utility).
    exp is the export tool used for backup
    nn

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    165
    Thanks a lot!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    I'm a developer not a DBA - I think one of the DBA's needs to answer this in more detail.

    Exp is an export tool - not a backup solution. While yes you could use it in some scenario's I think you need to be fully au fait with the issues surrounding backups before deciding if it is suitable for your needs. Particularly - what will not be backed up using exp and what processes you'll have to go through should the worst happen and you have to do a full rebuild of the server, software etc.

    Hopefully a DBA can shed a bit more light on it?

    HTH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    279

    Re: Rman

    Originally posted by NoviceNo1
    Hi,
    Go to DOS Prompt and use the exp command(utility).
    exp is the export tool used for backup
    I cringe every time I see somebody suggest using export/import as a backup methodology.

    Export is a poor choice for a backup methodology because it limits your recovery options. First, export only takes a snapshot of your database and copies it to disk. Should you lose your database, you only have your database as of point X. If your database crashes 10 minutes before the next daily import, you have lost an entire day's worth of data.

    Second, export has bugs. Sometimes you won't encounter these bugs until you go to import your data after you have accidently dropped a tablespace (been there, done that).

    Sure, export can be used as a supplement to a comprehensive, tested, and documented backup plan. It sure is nice to have an export when user X drops his very static table. Having a full export also gives you a warm fuzzy feeling should your regular backup fail for some reason.

    [opinion]
    A production database should be in archivelog mode with a regular full backup. This backup can be a cold backup with the database down, or a hot backup with the database up. RMAN is an excellent tool for implementing a backup/recovery strategy.
    [/opinion]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    279

    Re: Rman

    Originally posted by zkajfez
    I tried backup by opening sqlplus and enter
    backup full and rc backup full but it don't works.
    Also,I opened OS prompt and after i enter RMAN
    I tried
    BACKUP FULL
    Of course,it don't works.
    In all situations "BACKUP" is unknown command.
    What I am doing wrong?
    Oracle 8.1.7 ,Win2000.
    Installation was like "next,next,finish"
    Thanks for advice,Zvonimir
    rman is a seperate program. I suggest http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...a76990/toc.htm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    165
    Thanks,good people!!!
    Now,I see i wasn't exact enough.
    I will try now:
    Of course,I don't want to do export-import strategy.I want full offline backup,and,if possible, rollforward to end of logs.So,my backup strategy is through command BACKUP DATABASE.
    But,I don't know what kind of prompt i have to use.
    SQL*PLUS don't know for BACKUP command.
    But,I am not sure am i entering backup through SQL*PLUS or I have
    to do this by other prompt,I think through OS prompt CMD and after that
    RMAN ( it is prompt where after entering RMAN you can see:
    Recovery manager 8.1.7.0.0-Production,and then I see prompt
    RMAN>
    But,when I enter backup conmmand ( BACKUP FULL) ,it tell me that it heard only for commands:
    allocate,alter,beginline,catalog,change etc.

    Sorry,I am freshman in Oracle World.
    thanks
    Zvonimir

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    102
    hi,

    RMAN is a powerful tool, but it's not an intuitive 'let's start, play around and we will see how it works' tool.
    As with most other parts of Oracle, you are strongly recommended to read the documentation.
    Just to have an imagine about RMAN-commands, search for *.rcv files in your $ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/demo

    kind regards
    ^/\x

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    482

    Smile

    Here is the complete scripts to backup your database:


    RMAN> run {
    2> allocate channel d1 type disk;
    3> allocate channel d2 type disk;
    4> backup
    5> format 'full_d%d_u%u'
    6> filesperset 10
    7> skip readonly
    8> database;
    9> release channel d1;
    10> release channel d2;
    11> }


    You can integrate RMAN into operating-system command scripts, either as a call to RMAN with a command file or with in-line RMAN scripts.
    You can store RMAN commands in scripts and hold them in the recovery catalog itself. The following command creates a script for backing up the ACCT tablespace:

    RMAN> replace script backup_acct {
    2> allocate channel c1 type disk;
    3> backup tablespace acct
    4> format 'z:\backups\acct%u';
    5> release channel c1;
    6> }


    To execute this script, simply issue the call to run the backup_acct procedure, as shown in the RMAN run command:

    RMAN> run { execute script backup_acct;}


    Hope that helps,

    clio_usa
    OCP - DBA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •