Unhappy Unanswered: using the dbms_lock package

Hi,

I am a newbie to Oracle and I would like to know how to use the dbms_lock package, so that I can implement table locking.

I use ODBC/ADO in VC++ 6.0 for accessing Oracle 8i. I am unable to lock the table in such a way that while the lock is active, no other user will be able to read or write to that table. My program will be running on several systems accessing the same database for read and write.

Any VC code or detailed step-by-step procedures will be greatly appreciated.

Provided Answers: 1

Re: using the dbms_lock package

Originally posted by deltacadd
    Hi,

I am a newbie to Oracle and I would like to know how to use the dbms_lock package, so that I can implement table locking.

I use ODBC/ADO in VC++ 6.0 for accessing Oracle 8i. I am unable to lock the table in such a way that while the lock is active, no other user will be able to read or write to that table. My program will be running on several systems accessing the same database for read and write.

Any VC code or detailed step-by-step procedures will be greatly appreciated.
    The DBMS_LOCK package is provided for locking non-database objects. To lock a table, use the LOCK TABLE command:

http://technet.oracle.com/docs/produ...4a.htm#2064407

Why do you need a table-level lock anyway? That's a pretty unusual thing to do in an Oracle application.

If I use the LOCK TABLE statement via the ODBC interface, it just does not seem to work when multiple users are updating the same table. The scenario is something like this:

1. User 1 retrieves the last record in a table and reads a number
    2. User 1 adds 1 to the number and adds a new record to the table.

If between steps 1 and 2, another user performs the same operation it will result in two records having the same number in the field, which for my purposes, is an error.