Unanswered: DB2 7 trial install difficulties

Allright here is an absolute newbie to db2 issue.

I purchased one of the DB2 fundamentals for Dummies because it had the trial 7.x CDs. My focus is to take a looksee at db2 with a focus on the OLAP. I am keen on getting a little taste of the Essbase that is part of the package.

I eagerly installed the db2 and OLAP starter kit on an NT 4.0 SP 5 and things seemed fine at the beginning, but I received a few errors on install related to 'iwh2regi.exe.'

When install finished and a reboot brought up the first steps, I tried to create the sample databases. I received errors. When I looked at the license, it says it has expired. Ultimately, I downloaded the entire 7.2 PE from IBM, thinking this would solve the problem. Same errors.

If I install db2 8.x trial edition, I receive NO errors. This would be fine but 'ME WANTS OLAP FOR FREE EVALUATION.'

db2admin is in Administrators groups and all special access rights have been granted. Can anyone help me figure thiso out? I have had zeor luck with IBM site and await a response. If anyone here has the smarts, I am all eyes.

Thanks!
    shoffer

Re: DB2 7 trial install difficulties

Hi,

The error was in "data warehouse" part of installation. Do you need to test the "data warehouse" also? OLAP should run well. OLAP is independent product.

You probably got the error message when you tried to make a data warehouse sample database. If you only want to test an OLAP you don't need the data warehouse sample database. You must just create OLAP sample database.

Just verify if OLAP server is installed. Check Windows services | DB2 OLAP server.

Run Integration server desktop (start | programs etc) and try to connect to server.

Hope this helps,
    Grofaty.

Originally posted by shoffer
    Allright here is an absolute newbie to db2 issue.