Unanswered: Can you kind people help me :)

Hello,

I'm by no means an access proffesional. I'm just a student who is completely stuck and has no experience with visual basic.

Well here's the scenario:

I have a database with a field which is a tickbox. Now what i need to do is that once that field has thirty boxes which are ticked i want it to bring up an error when you try and click a 31st tickbox...

Please can you guide me on exactly how to do this ...

- miSt

Do you mean 30 check boxes on one form? cos' I can't see how one field can have 30 check boxes??

No lol.

Sorry i didn't explain probably.

I have a table and one of the fields is a checkbox. Say if this was a field of users and if the box is ticked it means they're under 10 and if they're not under 10 it's unticked. Once i have 30 users who are under 10 i want it to display an error.

I wish i could attach my database to make it easier...

- miSt

In the oncurrent event for the form do a Count of one of the fields with yourcheckbox = -1 as the criteria.

eg.

Private Sub Form_Current()

If Dcount("[SomeUniqueID]","SomeTable","[SomeCheck] = -1") >30 then
    msgbox(" > 30 records have been created")
    else
    'do nothing
    end if

End Sub

You could also count thr records in a recordset object instead if you prefer to use SQL queries.

HTH
    :0)

Thankyou for your help.

I don't really understand what you told me to do there but i'll show my tutor that link and see if she understands

If she doesn't i'll reply asking for step-by-step instructions if you can do that for me

Thanks !

- miSt

Ok my computing teacher doesn't really understand..

Is there any chance i could email my database to someone and they inplement this for me?

Thanks in Advance

- miSt

you can email it to me if you want but first i'll try to explain the process

bits of the code that are enclosed in <> need to be replaced with the words that are relavant to your database