Thread: Access and MDF

Unanswered: Access and MDF

Hi - trying to understand some basics here. I have two large files one is a MDF extension the other is a LDF extension. I have learned that these are SQL DataBases. I would like to use of them through MS Access. Here's my problem... I have no clue where to begin. I have little experience with Access and none with SQL. I don't even know if I have to set up a Access DB before trying to look at the info in the MDF file. The Access help talks about ODBC drivers. Can someone help me just understand the concept of what needs to be done. Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Humble before you....

Re: Access and MDF

Originally posted by noviceatbest
    Hi - trying to understand some basics here. I have two large files one is a MDF extension the other is a LDF extension. I have learned that these are SQL DataBases. I would like to use of them through MS Access. Here's my problem... I have no clue where to begin. I have little experience with Access and none with SQL. I don't even know if I have to set up a Access DB before trying to look at the info in the MDF file. The Access help talks about ODBC drivers. Can someone help me just understand the concept of what needs to be done. Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Humble before you....