Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Unanswered: Blowing my mind!!!!!!

    Ok gurus here is somethign that I cant explane. I am haveing serious eratic responses from my SQL 7.0 Server. I can take a stored procedure and run it in a query analyzer window and it works fine, I go to rerun the same code in that window a second time and get no return set. The temp table is null. open a new window and it works fine. This code rand like clock work two weeks ago and there have been no updates to the code. I am on an old server wich has given me many hardware head aches in the past.....am I having a hardware falure or is this a SQL issue?
    Jim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    369

    Re: Blowing my mind!!!!!!

    RE:
    I am haveing serious eratic responses from my SQL 7.0 Server. I can take a stored procedure and run it in a query analyzer window and it works fine, I go to rerun the same code in that window a second time and get no return set. The temp table is null. open a new window and it works fine. This code ran like clock work two weeks ago and there have been no updates to the code. I am on an old server wich has given me many hardware head aches in the past.....

    Q1 Am I having a hardware falure or is this a SQL issue? Jim
    A1 From the information / background given, it may be a resource stressed sql server, sick / dying hardware, connectivity issues, possibly workstation issues, or worse, some combination of ills. It may be helpful to characterize the issue further in multiple ways, e.g.(test for the issue from other workstations, monitor with profiler, check server array and other hardware health, etc., etc., etc.).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: Blowing my mind!!!!!!

    Originally posted by DBA
    A1 From the information / background given, it may be a resource stressed sql server, sick / dying hardware, connectivity issues, possibly workstation issues, or worse, some combination of ills. It may be helpful to characterize the issue further in multiple ways, e.g.(test for the issue from other workstations, monitor with profiler, check server array and other hardware health, etc., etc., etc.).
    the network admin isnt willing to test the box, he says it sql
    the problem persists on multiple workstations, this is quad processer with 4 gig of ram and the resorce monitor says that the processors and mem are not near maxed out...........I think I may have some courupt indexes. I had a maintenance plan boom on me in the middle of this db and I think that hurt my indexes. Is that something that can happen?
    Jim

    PS Fixed the above mentioned stored procedure now just haveing horendious respons time
    Jim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    369

    Re: Blowing my mind!!!!!!

    RE:
    the network admin isnt willing to test the box, he says it sql
    My that's helpful, what if it is actually both?
    RE:
    Q1 the problem persists on multiple workstations, this is quad processer with 4 gig of ram and the resorce monitor says that the processors and mem are not near maxed out...........I think I may have some courupt indexes. I had a maintenance plan boom on me in the middle of this db and I think that hurt my indexes. Is that something that can happen? Jim PS Fixed the above mentioned stored procedure now just haveing horendious respons time Jim
    A1 Consider running dbcc checkdb; them repair (or drop / recreate) any corrupt indicies found. Corrupting indicies would depend on the nature of "boom". Corrupt indexes may account for long response times.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: Blowing my mind!!!!!!

    Originally posted by DBA
    My that's helpful, what if it is actually both?


    A1 Consider running dbcc checkdb; them repair (or drop / recreate) any corrupt indicies found. Corrupting indicies would depend on the nature of "boom". Corrupt indexes may account for long response times.
    Running dbcc checkdb now....can you give me a guess to how long it will run on a 60ish gig db?
    Jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    369

    Re: Blowing my mind!!!!!!

    Originally posted by JDionne
    Q1 Running dbcc checkdb now....can you give me a guess to how long it will run on a 60ish gig db?
    Jim
    A1 Wouldn't want to hazard a guess (depends on to many variables specific to the environment such as disk access rates, how much corruption exists, number of indexes, etc., etc., etc.).

    It is possible to get an estimate of how much tempdb space may be required to checkalloc and chekctables via:

    dbcc checkdb With EstimateOnly

    Hopefully some of this was helpful (any hardware / corruption or other issues identified)?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: Blowing my mind!!!!!!

    Originally posted by DBA
    A1 Wouldn't want to hazard a guess (depends on to many variables specific to the environment such as disk access rates, how much corruption exists, number of indexes, etc., etc., etc.).

    It is possible to get an estimate of how much tempdb space may be required to checkalloc and chekctables via:

    dbcc checkdb With EstimateOnly

    Hopefully some of this was helpful (any hardware / corruption or other issues identified)?
    as of now the checkdb showed no errors, and there supposidly is no hardware problems...we have rebuilt a few tables and indexes and It seems to be a bit better....rewriten known code a diff way and that has seemed to help a bit to. We also found a corupt data load file and we are hopeing to get that fixed soon. Thanx for your help...It has been invaluable.
    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •