Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    2

    Unanswered: DB Link from Oracle to DB2

    Can we create a db link from Oracle to DB2 ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: DB Link from Oracle to DB2

    Have a look at the following link :

    http://www.experts-exchange.com/Data..._10074812.html

    Cheers

    Sathyaram


    Originally posted by nsuresh
    Can we create a db link from Oracle to DB2 ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256

    other way around

    Okay, can a link be established to fetch data from ORACLE to DB2 (which is the other way around!)
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: other way around

    You can do ...

    You will have to pay IBM for the Relational Connect Product ...

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by blom0344
    Okay, can a link be established to fetch data from ORACLE to DB2 (which is the other way around!)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5

    Re: other way around

    I believe that since ver 7 that Relational Connect has been incorporated
    into the base system, they call it Federated System.

    Andy

    Originally posted by sathyaram_s
    You can do ...

    You will have to pay IBM for the Relational Connect Product ...

    Cheers

    Sathyaram

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24

    Re: other way around

    I think this is just an environment, but to connect to Oracle, you need to have DB2 Rel Connect. Please look at this....

    http://www-3.ibm.com/software/data/d...p7/db2ir96.htm

    Let me know if you find anything more.
    Thanks
    Laca

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zutphen,Netherlands
    Posts
    256

    Unhappy

    I think I am screwed regarding to DB2 rel connect, cause we have the workgroup edition installed and running. The connection to ORACLE is only viable for the enterprise and extended enterprise editions.......................................... .................................................. .................................................. ....................

    (pardon the expression)
    Ties Blom
    Senior Application Developer BI
    Getronics Healthcare
    DB2,ORACLE,Powercenter,BusObj,Access,
    SQL, SQL server

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •