Question Unanswered: Oracle trigger confusion

Hi there,

I have a question about something I read in an Oracle guide (I'm fairly new to Oracle and know next to nothing about triggers):

"Do not create recursive triggers. For example, creating an AFTER UPDATE statement trigger on the Emp_tab table that itself issues an UPDATE statement on Emp_tab, causes the trigger to fire recursively until it has run out of memory."

Is this true of ANY 'after update then update' style trigger? I want to make a trigger that only fires when a column is updated with a particular value. I then want the trigger to update some other related rows in the same table. E.g.

If I issue: UPDATE Tbl_Blah
    SET UpdateStatus='GO'
    WHERE...

Then I want the trigger to look at the record I've just updated, taking note of the values in three of the other columns and look for the other records in the same table that have these same values. When it finds any of these records I want it to update each of their 'UpdateStatus' columns to 'GA'.

Is this possible? Could someone give me some pointers on how to go about this, or any good internet references on trigger syntax please?

Much appreciated,
    Gillian Klee

Provided Answers: 1

Re: Oracle trigger confusion

It is certainly possible, though triggers can be tricky. As long as your recursive update comes to an end (runs out of rows to update) then it should be OK.

In this case, the trigger could have a WHEN clause:

WHEN NEW.updatestatus = 'GO'

Now, when the trigger fires and sets the UpdateStatus to 'GA' on some other records, the trigger will not fire recursively, because the WHEN clause will not be satisfied for the updated records.

The problem you will hit here is the "table is mutating" error, because your trigger is attempting to update the same table that was being updated when the trigger fired. This can be overcome with some additional complexity - see here for details:
    http://asktom.oracle.com/~tkyte/Mutate/index.html