Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: Replication with Logical Logs ?

    Is it possible to replicate from one instance to (
    except for the underlying hardware)an identical instance. I've read (Carlton Doe) that there can be issues because the logical logs can call for a new extents. Is this just a space issue ? Or, are there more complex trouble spots for using this method?

    We have a SUN E450, Ultra10 and an Ultra2 all running Solaris 8 with
    the same version of Informix and tools. The replication needs to be done asynchronously.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bonn/Germany
    Posts
    152
    If you want to replicate the whole instance (this means
    every database inside this instance and every table
    inside these databases) you can use HDR.

    The two machines need to be the same, that means they
    need to have the same processor architecture.
    However they don't need to have the same number
    of processors.

    HDR is stable and is used at some big Informix customers.
    You can perform asynchronous and synchronous replication
    with HDR.


    The other option is using ER (Enterprise Replication).
    With ER you can replicate only a subset of the tables.
    They can be replicated to more than one server and
    also an update anywhere configuration is possible.
    The participating servers can consist of different hardware
    architectures.
    However, ER is more difficult to setup and maintain and the
    replication is always asynchronously.

    Best regards

    Eric
    --
    IT-Consulting Herber
    WWW: http://www.herber-consulting.de
    Email: eric@herber-consulting.de

    ***********************************************
    Download the IFMX Database-Monitor for free at:
    http://www.herber-consulting.de/BusyBee
    ***********************************************

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    7
    Yes, I am aware of HDR and ER; that is why I asked the question if it is possible to use the logical logs; since, that is the basic method that
    HDR & ER use.
    One could use triggers for replication but there are performance issues.

    Question: Do logical logs make any calls that are specific to the underlying hardware ?

    The setup is 1 identical database on 2 different SUN hardware that are both running the same version of Solaris 8.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bonn/Germany
    Posts
    152
    If the two SUN machines are binary compatible
    you can use HDR.

    If for example one of these machines is a sparc and the other
    is an intel pc with solaris, you can't use HDR but you can
    use ER.

    Best regards

    Eric
    --
    IT-Consulting Herber
    WWW: http://www.herber-consulting.de
    Email: eric@herber-consulting.de

    ***********************************************
    Download the IFMX Database-Monitor for free at:
    http://www.herber-consulting.de/BusyBee
    ***********************************************

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    7
    Originally posted by eherber
    If the two SUN machines are binary compatible
    you can use HDR.

    If for example one of these machines is a sparc and the other
    is an intel pc with solaris, you can't use HDR but you can
    use ER.
    Eric,

    I appreciate your taking the time to reply to this thread; it is nice to hear from someone who has extensive knowledge with Informix.

    I find myself even more interested now. Is it possible to send the logical logs to a file and then ftp the file to an off-site twin machine( the machine is a fraternal twin since everything is identical except one machine is a SUN E450 and the other is a SUN Ultra 2) and perform a restore on the off-site fraternal twin?
    The reason for these convoluted machinations is security.
    If the CIA can be hacked, my conclusion is that trying to protect an internal network is a monetary hamster wheel; you can never get off; there are always new hacks. It is just a large ongoing cost for the sake of convenience, at least for a company of our size. And, we consider our data sensitive.
    From my frugal understanding, I think when the logical logs are used for a restore, the logs make system calls ; these calls should be the same for 2 or more machines that are running SPARC/Solaris 8.
    Could you please enlighten ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bonn/Germany
    Posts
    152
    Yes, you can save the logical logs to a file and transfer
    this file to the secondary machine.

    This hot-standby-setup has been used in the past by many big SAP installations.

    You must first restore a physical level-0-archive on the second
    machine and from this point on you can rollforward thru the
    logical logs, i.e. keeping the second machine always in
    rollforward recovery.

    But you need some scripts which will automate this process
    for you. This might not be as easy as it sounds.

    You should also consider using VPN technology (virtual private
    networks) for protecting your netword and then using HDR
    for replicating your Informix instance. This sounds more reliable
    to me.

    Best regards

    Eric
    --
    IT-Consulting Herber
    WWW: http://www.herber-consulting.de
    Email: eric@herber-consulting.de

    ***********************************************
    Download the IFMX Database-Monitor for free at:
    http://www.herber-consulting.de/BusyBee
    ***********************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    112
    Use storage replication software such as Veritas volume replicator to replicate storage only ,and use the external restore(onbar -r -e ) feature , It'll leave server in Fast Recovery mode and bring logical logs(as files or tapes ) to logical log restore and never restore L 0 before logical log restore

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •