Unanswered: Extract lines from a file

I am new to unix shell programming. I would like to know how I can do the following:
    Have a file contain the number of students and their marks separated by spaces so it's something like this:
    Johnny Blake 2255521455 50 100 85 95 100 85 20 51

Now I want the shell script to display the name of the student, and his/her overall mark when the user inputs the exact same student number as the one in that file. Is there any way to do this in the Bourne Shell??? THanks in advance.

You may want to get other ideas, but this is one way....
    #! /bin/ksh

echo "Which Student?: \c"
    read student_no
    echo "Looking For Student ($student_no)...."

awk -v sno=$student_no '{if ($3==sno) {printf "%-s,%-s\t%-6.2f\n",$2,$1,$4+$5+$6+$7+$8+$9+$10+$11;}}'< /your_filename
    awk -v sno=$student_no '$3==sno {printf "%-s,%-s\t%-6.2f\n",$2,$1,$4+$5+$6+$7+$8+$9+$10+$11;}' < your_filename
    NB EACH awk line should be one line, when I pasted the commands the 'editor' split the lines in the middle of the awk printf statement...the line should be continuous from 'awk -v .....' to '<your_filename' in both cases
    The script above (between the -------) will ask the user to enter the student no, then echos back which student it's looking for before passing the student no to a unix utility called awk. The awk script then sets its own variable (sno) to the entered student no and matches the student no to the 3rd field ($3) in your file.
    Two variants of the awk script do the same thing - the first shows an 'if' statement, and the second the built in pattern matching facility - both effectively filter the lines in your file to the ones matching the student no.
    Points to note/be wary/future reading/investigation:
    1) The script heading denotes KORN (#! /bin/ksh) shell - this may not be available on you Unix installation. BOURNE (#! /bin/sh) could be substituted if your machine supports that. Other shells are available.