Talking Regarding Normalisation

Hi.. I'm a student who study DB. I'm not very understand in normalistaion.

In a situation that A,B,C,D,E,F,G in a relation that the composite A,B,C,D is a key in the relation.

If it holds a partial dependency that
    A->E,F B->E,F C->E,F C,D->G

After 2NF should decompose into 5 relation.
    A->E,F B->E,F C->E,F C,D->G and A,B,C,D

should we still keep the relation A,B,C,D seems no more attribute determine by it. and A,B and C determine the same thing should we just join it into A,B,C->E,F instead of the relation I state just now...

Would you please kindly give me some advice how to overcome this kind of situation . thank you.

Re: Regarding Normalisation

By A -> E,F you mean that E and F are functionally dependent on A, right? In other words, if you know the value of A then you know the value of E and F - yes?

You then say B -> E,F and C -> E,F

That must mean that A,B and C are all candidate keys for the relation {A,B,C,E,F}. You could choose one arbitrarily is the primary key, say A, then you have A->B,C,E,F

You also have C,D -> G, i.e. {C,D} is the key for the relation {C,D,G}.

Note that since A->C, this is same as A,D-> G so we could have the relation {A,D,G} instead with A,D as the key.

Now regarding {A,B,C,D}. Since A->B,C you can reduce it to just {A,D}, which is then just a projection of {A,D,G} so can be dispensed with.

So I think you will have:

{A,B,C,E,F} with key A
    {A,D,G} with key A,D

Talking

Thanks for your explaination... it really give me an idea.. but i not understand A,B,C why I can choose any as a primary key becoz from my understanding candidate key must be able to identify the whole relation.

A->E,F B->E,F C->E,F but group together should be A,B,C->E,F
    rather than either one can A->B,C,E,F or B->A,C,E,F

Becoz B and C is not determined by A....

Originally posted by icestone