Unhappy Unanswered: Multiple update problem with form/subform

I have a master form and subform problem. Both master and subform have the same underlying query. All the fields on the subform are from only one table - the master has two fields from the same table as the subform and another three fields from two other tables.

My problem is that as soon as I enter data into the master it updates the table with a new record. When I enter the data into the subform it ALSO makes a new record. If I make any of the fields "Required" I get the hated bonging sound. Right now, every time I make an entry I get two half completed records.

My question is - how can I stop the master form updating until AFTER I have entered data into the subform?

Thanks

Ron Frend

Re: Multiple update problem with form/subform

Originally posted by ronfrend
    I have a master form and subform problem. Both master and subform have the same underlying query. All the fields on the subform are from only one table - the master has two fields from the same table as the subform and another three fields from two other tables.

My problem is that as soon as I enter data into the master it updates the table with a new record. When I enter the data into the subform it ALSO makes a new record. If I make any of the fields "Required" I get the hated bonging sound. Right now, every time I make an entry I get two half completed records.

My question is - how can I stop the master form updating until AFTER I have entered data into the subform?

Thanks

Ron Frend
    Are the fields on the subform and main form from the same table?
    Mona

I see in your post that you have fields in your subform that are from the same table as your master form, and that the subform has three fields from 2 other tables. Could you please tell us the reason the fields from that first table are not on the master form? In other words, is there a business requirement that dictates that?

Originally posted by Maia