Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Linked tables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    400

    Unanswered: Linked tables

    My problem is I only want Access as a frontwend of postgresql

    I have linked the tables through ODBC

    In the process of linking I had to define the primary keys for access in the linked tables

    The problem is I have defined a primary key wrong
    I wanted to get rid of the key in access but I cannot change the linked tables

    I made a new access database and then access asks no more about the primary keys and take the settings which I have defined with the first linking

    Does anyone know where this comes from and what I can do against it?
    http://www.postgresql.org
    --Postgresql is the only kind of thing--

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: Linked tables

    did it set the primary key on the backend database?
    Jim

    Originally posted by eperich
    My problem is I only want Access as a frontwend of postgresql

    I have linked the tables through ODBC

    In the process of linking I had to define the primary keys for access in the linked tables

    The problem is I have defined a primary key wrong
    I wanted to get rid of the key in access but I cannot change the linked tables

    I made a new access database and then access asks no more about the primary keys and take the settings which I have defined with the first linking

    Does anyone know where this comes from and what I can do against it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    400

    no

    there is no primary key at the backend database at this table

    I was setting the key at the first itme i linked the table
    And it was wrong

    Now I cannot revert that change
    http://www.postgresql.org
    --Postgresql is the only kind of thing--

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: no

    Originally posted by eperich
    there is no primary key at the backend database at this table

    I was setting the key at the first itme i linked the table
    And it was wrong

    Now I cannot revert that change
    maybe create a new odbc connection and relink threw that???
    thats just a guess, seems like access has some kind of cooke file..im not sure
    Jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    400

    ODBC Connection

    I have tried this

    And NOW
    THIS F** THING REMEMBERS THE ODBC CONNECTION

    Now I will make a script which generates the linked tables

    It's more work but I can get it done without such surprises

    I think ADO is the best gor this or I'm wrong?
    http://www.postgresql.org
    --Postgresql is the only kind of thing--

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    665

    Re: ODBC Connection

    Originally posted by eperich
    I have tried this

    And NOW
    THIS F** THING REMEMBERS THE ODBC CONNECTION

    Now I will make a script which generates the linked tables

    It's more work but I can get it done without such surprises

    I think ADO is the best gor this or I'm wrong?
    im not familure enough with the diff between ADO and DBO....if thats even the other option...i cant help u with that question
    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •