Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    50

    Red face Unanswered: urgent help needed

    Hi guys..

    Im getting the below error along with reason code 73 when i try to query my db2 server running on Mainframe. Any help on this will be great...

    SQL30081N A communication error has been detected. Communication protocol
    being used: "TCP/IP". Communication API being used: "SOCKETS". Location
    where the error was detected: "". Communication function detecting the error:
    "recv". Protocol specific error code(s): "73", "*", "0". SQLSTATE=08001

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    186
    Hi,

    Could you please confirm whether this error is occuring from client, it should.
    Also if so, do check for the communication protocol being used by the server and the Authentication as well.

    Cheers,
    Prashant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    50
    Originally posted by dahalkar_p
    Hi,

    Could you please confirm whether this error is occuring from client, it should.
    Also if so, do check for the communication protocol being used by the server and the Authentication as well.

    Cheers,
    Hi dahalkar

    Thanks alot for the reply . Yes, im gettign the error on client side. the communication protocol being used is TCP/IP on server side.

    When i do the same query from sun box i dont have any issues.

    Ram
    Thanks and Regards
    Ram

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    186
    Hi,

    I have not worked much on SUN machines with DB2.
    I will try if i get some resource. Meanwhile you can check this out:

    www.sun.com/solutions/third-party/global/db2/ collateral/RangerTech_newsletter12VOL01.pdf

    Will get back if i get something,
    Prashant

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    35

    Re: urgent help needed

    HI,

    We also got similar kind of error on NT(This mainly with because of DDF problems).

    Thanks,
    vasu
    vasu

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    I think you didn' t catalog correctly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    50
    Originally posted by ljrong
    I think you didn' t catalog correctly.
    No, i tried that tooo. I have uncataloged it and recataloged it. I was using this db for the past 8 months without any issues.
    Thanks and Regards
    Ram

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    Originally posted by rk_rachuri
    No, i tried that tooo. I have uncataloged it and recataloged it. I was using this db for the past 8 months without any issues.


    Did you change something like ipaddress, ipfilter, ... on both side?

    maybe it is network problem, Can you ping DB2 Machine?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    50
    Originally posted by ljrong
    Did you change something like ipaddress, ipfilter, ... on both side?

    maybe it is network problem, Can you ping DB2 Machine?
    Hi

    No i dindt change anything . And im able to ping my DB2 m/c. I have upgraded the fixpak to 6 just now. Im goin to uncatalog and catalog the db again and check
    Thanks and Regards
    Ram

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •