Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    47

    Angry Unanswered: Error Exporting a Table/running an append query

    I am trying to export a table from Access97 to an Excell 97 file. I get the attached error. I am running on W2K on a network, but the DB was coppied from the network to my local drive, and is being run from my local drive. I also get this error when exporting to another database, or to a text file. When I press HELP, i get info about Error # 3197. Please help!

    I am also getting the same error when trying to run an append query!

    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails export error.bmp  
    Last edited by NightZen; 04-08-03 at 10:56.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    168

    Re: Error Exporting a Table/running an append query

    The error (3197) means:

    The Microsoft Jet database engine stopped the process because you and another user are attempting to change the same data at the same time.

    (I just realised you know this from the bitmap..oops)

    However; this may not be the case. If it is not the case, try repairing and compacting and trying again.

    Last edited by johncameron; 04-08-03 at 12:45.
    J.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    47

    Re: Error Exporting a Table/running an append query

    It definatly is not the case ... I have tried to repair/compact and still the problem persists. a look on microsoft's site indicated i may have a currupted table. Any Idea's?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    168
    Have you tried importing all the db objects into a fresh DB? Sometimes this will fix a corrupt database.
    J.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    47
    Originally posted by johncameron
    Have you tried importing all the db objects into a fresh DB? Sometimes this will fix a corrupt database.
    Yes. and the table in question will not import. I get the same error.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    168
    Can you recreate the table (in the new db) and copy and paste the data into it? It's crude I know.
    J.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    168

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    47

    Talking

    Originally posted by johncameron
    Can you recreate the table (in the new db) and copy and paste the data into it? It's crude I know.
    Yes! ... untill i try to copy the damaged record containing the "#error". Now that I found the error i can delete/recreate the record. Problem solved! Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    168
    Always a pleasure...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •