Wink Unanswered: paging mr smarty pants!

Hi, I am new to SQL server and I have what I think is probably an easy question. I have table1 that has a long var char and a unique ID. I want to create another table (table2) that has a matching unique ID for the first table and then column(s) of data that defines how the long var char should get sliced up into fields. Then I want a way (stored procedure?) to read the data out of table1, apply the structure/definition from table2 and insert it into a third table. I need to do it quickly and efficiently of course, but I dont know where to start!

So, to put it simply, heres table1:
    1|pam,mitchell,female,28,hotty<lf>
    2|doug,roberts,male,50,jerk<lf>

How do I store the data definition in table2 and then how do I apply it and insert the translated records to table3 to get this:
    pam|mitchel|female|28|hotty
    doug|roberts|male|50|jerk

I know I rambled on with this and probably could have explained better, but the white out on my screen keeps slowing me down :]

Thanks ahead of time!

Smile Re: paging mr smarty pants!

Come on! Somebody help me pleaseeeeeeee!!!!

Originally posted by CuteSmartChic
    Hi, I am new to SQL server and I have what I think is probably an easy question. I have table1 that has a long var char and a unique ID. I want to create another table (table2) that has a matching unique ID for the first table and then column(s) of data that defines how the long var char should get sliced up into fields. Then I want a way (stored procedure?) to read the data out of table1, apply the structure/definition from table2 and insert it into a third table. I need to do it quickly and efficiently of course, but I dont know where to start!

So, to put it simply, heres table1:
    1|pam,mitchell,female,28,hotty<lf>
    2|doug,roberts,male,50,jerk<lf>

How do I store the data definition in table2 and then how do I apply it and insert the translated records to table3 to get this:
    pam|mitchel|female|28|hotty