Unanswered: Hiding Cells outside of criteria

I am rather new to creating databases (actually, this is my first project). I have a database that tracks training classes of students. A monthly report has to be sent out containing all classes attended that month. The table columns include: Student, Class1, Class2, Class3 etc. If I run a parameter query where criteria is
    Class1 Class2
    Criteria: Between [Start] And [End]
    Or: Between [Start] And [End]
    And so on...
    The problem is this:
    When this query is run, it brings up the whole record. If an individual has taken Class1 within the criteria parameters, and Class2 outside of the parameters, Class2 shows up. Is there any way to make Class2 cell blank or viceversa without making separate queries? I would like the results to appear on one table. Thanks for any help!

Right click on the query and click on design view. Uncheck the box under the Class2, which has a "show" row.

Re: Hiding Cells outside of criteria

Beside a programming problem, you have a very serious design problem in your database. This problem of yours is called normalisation, and if you create a table like : Tab1(Student,Class1,Class2, ... , ClassN) you have no such thing like a normalised database.

I think your database should look more like this:

Student(StudID,StudName, ... ) 'other descriptive fields of a student
    Classes(ClassID,ClassDescription)
    StudAttendClass(StudID,ClassID,DateAttend)

After that you can create a crosstab query in MS Access that will extract the data you need for your report, exactly as you like.