Exclamation Database Design - please help

Hello all,

I have no experience in databse design and I would need some help and advice.
    Attached is a GIF file that shows a screen capture from ERWin 3.5.2 which I'm using to design a database for keeping track of courses and students registration for the courses (each course can be scheduled few times a year, a student can attend the course only once). I don't know if the design is correct; I would really appreciate your adivce.
    As you can see, some one-to-many relationships I draw already. I was trying to create also a one-to-many relationship between ScheduledCourses and RegisteredStudents but then ERWin is inserting the LectorID field from ScheduledCourses as a FK in RegisteredStudents table; I'm sure ERWin knows more than I do so my question is what am I doing wrong?

Is it possible that I have in one table a primary key composed from two columns which are primary key columns in two other different tables ? See RegisteredStudents table for example (I design it to have a primary key composed from StudentID and ScheduledCourseID which are primary keys in the Students and ScheduledCourses table).

TIA,
    Pat
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails course database schema.gif  
    Last edited by patm; 04-18-03 at 10:50.

Re: Database Design - please help

Ok,

THis is a fast take, so take with a grain of salt.

The course table should have only a single column primary key of COURSEID. This key should uniquely identify each row in the table.

You will need a many to many relation between course and student. Ie, a student can take many courses and a course can be taken by many students. This will requiire a resolution table between course and student called COURSE_STUDENT, with a composite PK of courseid & studentid.

The student entity should have PK of studentID.

HTH,
    Jeff

Originally posted by jlarimore
    Ok,

THis is a fast take, so take with a grain of salt.