Red face Unanswered: passing form textbox data into query

Hello,

I'm a CS student / intern and am new to Access. I need some help for a debugging problem in my new internship.

Here's the story:

I'm working with a form with an imbedded subform. In the main form (the top part of the window) the user can do various things to filter the Request table's records. The recordset is returned below in the subform. Some data appears in the subform's textboxes, and other data can be entered by the user (a member of the configuration management team). The user can scroll one by one through the recordset.

There is a combo box that is used to assign a specific Request to a member of my configuration management team. Once a selection is made from this box, an Access report is generated based upon a query and immediately sent to the developer who initially made the request to inform them that their request has been assigned to so-and-so from our group. The doCmd.OutputReport... command is used in the code to generate & ship off this report.

In a majority of instances this has worked the way it should (these instances have been for brand new requests). If we try to reassign a record from one CMG person to another, the report generated has wrong information... data from another record (not of the record that we are currently viewing and making the change to).

To prevent this, the best thing I can think of is to pass the number of the request (a unique identifier) from the "txtRequestID" textbox on the subform to the query. To do this, on the query design grid I have entered under Criteria for the RequestID column the following:

=[Forms]![nameOfSubform]![txtRequestID].